Posts

Showing posts from February, 2015

Leonard Nimoy RIP

Image
Leonard Nimoy RIP From The New York Times.com, ((Leonard Nimoy, the sonorous, gaunt-faced actor who won a worshipful global following as Mr. Spock, the resolutely logical human-alien first officer of the Starship Enterprise in the television and movie juggernaut “Star Trek,” died on Friday morning at his home in the Bel Air section of Los Angeles. He was 83. )) This guy had a huge impact on my life, probably more so than Shatner. Nimoy was the guy that went from being a good actor to a successful writer/director/producer. In many ways, he was one of the creative forces that saved Star Trek from the mess that Gene turned the franchise into after the first motion picture. Yes, he was one of the people the that saved Trek. Keep in mind that Nimoy nearly died in the first movie because they forgot he was in that space suit and he overheated sitting there between takes. This in turn made him not want to be Spock anymore and he wanted them to kill off his character in th...

Random Things

Image
Random Things  ~House of Cards: While I am very sick and getting over a bad cold, I will be watching season 3 of this show on Netflix this weekend. I got done with the second season of Orange is the New Black within a week. Netflix is really pulling out the stops with these orignal programs. It is like they took the HBO model and mixed it with Showtime's model and made it their own. House of Cards is one of my favorite shows because it is so mean and evil. Heck, they killed off a major hero in the first episode in the second season. That takes balls. I can't wait to dig my claws into season 3. Remember, Frank Underwood is the president.   ~Robocop Remake: I tried to sit down and watch the remake. The FX were good and the acting isn't bad. However, I found myself bored with the movie. Robocop 3 was bad, but it was boring. I did like that ED robo shows up, however I couldn't stay with the movie. I turned it off. Why remake something that alread...

Zendaya, Giuliana, Kelly Osbourne

Image
Zendaya, Giuliana, Kelly Osbourne I guess I am completely out of the loop. I hate fashion-based tv shows and I hate the people that host these vapid shows. I hate how they hate rate the women and judge them. Uh, shouldn't be about the content of the shows and movies they put out. (Great, I am sounding like a feminist) However, it's true. It's the worst thing about womanhood, women judging how another woman looks. What happened to “girl power”? Anyway, I guess Giuliana (whoever) said something mean. From Huffington Post , ((While commenting on actress/singer Zendaya 's look, which included an satin ivory Vivienne Westwood gown and a head of waist-length locs, Rancic said, "I feel like she smells like patchouli oil." That sentiment was followed with, "Or weed," by co-host Kelly Osbourne and then repeated by Rancic. )) Hold on, Kelly Osbourne is a host. What does she know about fashion? And, aren't you a recording artist?...

Last of the Mohicans: The Kiss

Image
Last of the Mohicans: The Kiss I always liked this version better than the one on the album. It feels like the fiddle (Fiddles?) is just source music then switches to score as the low chords start to come in at 1:04. It then turns into a full score sound. It should be noted that the fiddle solo turns into a group later in the piece on the album version. Back to the Future also does this with the source song (Earth Angel) turning into the actual score during the dance. I love when score do that. Here's the album version. It is less raw and clearer than the film version It is a nice piece of music. It is a stripped down version of the main theme. I love how the native drums counter to the Irish theme. Here's a concert version.

10 Years of Blogging: Some Thoughts (Part 1 of 3)

Image
10 Years of Blogging: Some Thoughts (Part 1 of 3)   I hate birthdays, but... Way back on February 11 was my ten year blogging anniversary . I started this damn thing back in 2005. I did it because I saw other people on Streaming Soundtracks create their own blogs, plus I was a writer writing fiction in a writing group. Pre-2005, I was a writing machine cranking out pages upon pages of a book I wanted to publish. The blog was another extension of that. Because I loved movies and video games, I wanted to write and share with others. I started out writing, if very crudely, without a mindset of what impact it would have on the Internet world. And, keep in mind blogging was much more of a wild west than it is now. Blogging was new and fresh when I started. There were superstars in the blogging that were extreme;y popular. I was just this new blogger with very few readers and followers. I don't know, but it all felt like a different place than what it is today. ...

Christina Aguilera impersonates singers...

Image
Christina Aguilera impersonates singers... Damn she's good, really good. It sounds like Christina has impersonated Britney Spears before. Plus, Christina does a better version of Britney than Britney herself these days.  I heard Christina isn't a fun person to be around, but she has talent and can sing. Remember, there was a bit of a rivalry between Britney and Christina at the beginning. I have to give her props. She has a voice. 

From Louisville to Memphis Part 2

Image
Well, we're back to give you another post  my journey to the city. I want back there a couple of years ago, but never really took any pictures. Now, I have a handy dandy camera and took some. Remember this is during my grandmother's wake and funeral. Black families put a lot of time and effort into death of a loved one. There is a lot of political aspects that I never want to be involved in and I tried my best to stay out of that shit. I did learn I have some half black half Filipino cousins. That's cool. They were these really smart little girls with musical backgrounds.

Kim Jong Un has a new look and a new attitude? work it

Image
Kim Jong Un has a new look and a new attitude? Well, well it looks nearly the same as his other looks, but now his hair looks like an eraser. I know I am asking for the Cult of Kim to attack me by me making fun of the guy. However, does everyone have a 50s haircut?  Just shave that shit bald.  People will be scared of you if you shaved it bald and put on war paint.  Actually, really fat guys can't pull off the war paint because it just makes us look like unhappy chubby clowns.   He's like that chick that gets a really bad haircut, but you can't say anything bad about it.  So, you do your thing, girl.  Work that hair.  

Afroman punches female fan out

Image
Afroman punches female fan out He punches her and then goes on playing his guitar. Not cool, man. Uh, maybe he punches all his fans that way as a parting gift. It reminds me of that scene from Time Bandits. All joking aside, what the hell happened. Why did he completely Mike Tyson her on stage? He knew she was there and not a threat. Keep in mind most of his fans are stoners and non-threatening. I am shocked he even has a following, because he was so (90s). Here's another video. She landed on the corner of that second stage. Ouch. When a woman twerks on you, you don't punch them. Here's his apology. It should be noted that he's been arrested and charged with hitting that fan . And, you better believe there will be a lawsuit . Now, his tour dates are drying up. Yep, he deserves it. I just didn't know he was still a thing today.   

Edge of Tomorrow (Part 2)

Image
  Edge of Tomorrow (Part 2)   If I have one major complaint, it will be that the design of the minor mimics are uninspired. They move and look like those sentinels from The Matrix movies. There is too much similarity between the two designs. However, the Alpha mimics are impressive, because they have a wolf-like design to them. Since we see the minor ones the most, I just wanted a better design. The minor problem is we really don't get to know the squad that Cruise's character is assigned to in the beginning. We get to know them on the surface, but it isn't earned when we see the squad finally trust Cage in the third act. Keep in mind that they have no idea he's going through this loop and it is all new to them. They barely even know him in each loop. It just felt like there was a lot of stuff cut from the squad on the editing room floor. I also like the battle suits that everyone wears in the battle scenes. They are really cool and have a lot ...

Vanilla Ice arrested for stealing...junk?

Image
Vanilla Ice arrested for stealing...junk? Well, Vanilla Ice has always wanted to appear as a hardcore rapper. I guess this is in the right direction some 25 odd years later..sort of.  Get this, Vanilla was filming on his reality show, and he sent his work crew over to a house to steal shit and take it over to the house he was working on for his reality show. Isn't that strange. Weren't we done with reality shows starring Ice Ice Baby? This isn't the mid-2000s anymore. From the DailyMail.com, ((The burglarized residence, which is in foreclosure, is near a home that Van Winkle, 47, was working on for his show on DIY Network, The Vanilla Ice Project, and some of the stolen property was later found at Van Winkle's home, police say. )) Well, this is the most press he's gotten since that Ninja Turtles ad. Did he rap Go Ninja to the arresting cops?

Random Things

Image
Random Things ~I'm feeling a little better this week. Last week wasn't a good one for me with all the drama going around in the family. However, I am in better spirits this week. I kind of had a good time driving to Memphis and back to Louisville. Now, I have to look for a small time part time job just for the season. ~I watched like half of that SNL 40 Anniversary via the gym's TV. I wasn't really all that impressed with it. So Eddie Murphy was supposed to do a Bill Cosby skit. I guess he felt the heat and didn't want to do it. I don't blame him. However, Cosby was the one that gave him a lot of shit back in the days for Eddie's raunchy content . The Jeopardy skit was funny.   ~ Chevy Chase is losing it? : Has his bad asshole vibe caught up to him? It seems Chase forgot he was on SNL, which launched his career. Having to deal with someone with dementia, it sounds and looks like he has the early stages of it . Dementia is ...

PS or BS: I “love” your comments...

Image
PS or BS: I “love” your comments... Yet again. I received another comment that showered me with their love (or is that piss?). These comments usually pop up from posts I did years upon years ago. This one had me in stitches. How the heck did he come across my blog? Also I pissed him off so much that he left me an angry comment. Somehow, my rant about fat guys in tank-tops/wife beaters, offended him . His name is Xak. Let's read and enjoy his remarks on my shitty “offensive” post. ((The difference is while you may be 'tired' of seeing fat guys in wifebeaters, and you can actually do something about it by making this blog to express your displeasure (mostly because you've got nothing else to do), )) Well done, sir. You came out swinging and insulted me. I “nod respectfully” toward you, sir. Because it is my blog, I can say I am weary of seeing male underarm hair and portions of their pale guts...because I am sick of seeing it. So, let's...

Edge of Tomorrow (Part 1 of 2)

Image
Edge of Tomorrow (Part 1 of 2)  Well, Tom Cruise fights more aliens...kind of like in real life sort of. Edge of Tomorrow is actually an entertaining sci-fi/action movie. Yes, Cruise is in another future-set movie, but he's not named John. The concept of time travel and resets has a different take from some other time travel movies. Plus, the tech-suits are another neat twist on the future combat. This is another take on the Groundhog Day concept but with killing. Cage (Cruise) is an officer in the US military and works with the combined forces in Europe. His job is to promote the war with the aliens (mimics) on TV and other media outlets. He's supposed to put on a good face for the war. Well, through an incident with a superior officer, he ends up on the front line. In the form of a military offensive, the battle turns into a disaster. After killing a major boss mimic and getting killed by it, he finds himself reset back to the day before the offensive ...

Randy Quaid, what happened?

Image
Randy Quaid, what happened? Yes, that actually happened. Randy started to lose his mind years ago when he refuse to leave a house he didn't own anymore. After breaking the law, he moved up to Canada with his bat-shit wife. I am certain Canada want to deal with him either.   TMZ is now a police force? Yes, that was a ID4 reference. What's funny about his appearance now is he looks like the extra member of ZZ-Top. At this point, he IS cousin Eddie. I believe Dennis Quaid and he aren't on speaking terms.   There is good news about this downward fall. From Daily Mail, ((Quaid has a 31-year-old daughter, Amanda Quaid, with his first wife, Ella Marie Jolly, whom he divorced in August 1989. He married Evi six weeks later and they have no children together.)) Yep, these two crazy people don't have a child together. I am sure his daughter isn't pleased though. Anyway....Quaid, free Mars...free Mars. 

From Memphis to Louisville (Part 1)

Image
  -Nashville: I passed through that city fairly quickly. It was just beginning of rush hour. Nashville isn't that far from Louisville. -Memphis has brown roads: What I mean by that is the concrete roads have a light brown color to them. We don't have that color in Kentucky. -Graceland: Every time I passed Graceland, I thought Scientology taking a portion of that profit that place in the form of his wife and now, his daughter is out of the church though. I never was a fan of Elvis or his music, but the place was crowded. It is only a few blocks away from my grandmother's house. -Police Escort: In Louisville, we don't have police escorts (motorcycles) to most funerals. I asked the limo drivers if there is an escort to all funerals. He said yes because people drive very crazy in Memphis and they need them. He also stated that a few motorcycle guys got hit recently. I drove my car to the church behind the limos. It almost makes you f...

Back in Louisville

I will give you an update and posts some photos of the city and other things soon.  Just wanted to let everyone know. 

7-11 crazy

Image
7-11 crazy I go to these 24hr stores all the time. There are some interesting characters that grace the store. My favorites are the really hot girls that come in drunk and flirting with everyone. You also get those creepy homeless guys waiting for you outside. However, you also get these pieces of shits too. The incident goes from being bad to worst. The only two people not in the wrong is the black dude in the white hoodie and the camera guy. I like how the black dude (Amber Lamps) his way through the whole thing. -Clerk throwing stuff: That shouldn't have happened. I think he should have just waited for police to show up. That's when the high lady went crazy. However, she did grab that shit to provoke him to throw that shit at her. Just keep calm, dude. You're the one that isn't high. -High Lady gets a major slap to the head by foreign dude. Listen to the slap at 1:46. There is even a grunt by the clerk throwing the slap. ...

Keanu Reeves is a nice guy...

Image
Keanu Reeves is a nice guy... I may not be a fan of his acting, yet he's better than Nic Cage, but he's always come across as a nice dude. He was on the subway and gave up his seat for a woman. I won't even do that. I am an arrogant piece of shit. However, I would rather stand when it comes to being next to someone. I kind of like that Neo likes to ride the subway without a group of his people around. Was he looking for the train man from The Matrix 3? I've only heard good things about this guy, so I can't hate him. Please tell me this isn't a part of that Man-Spreading Bullshit ?   Whoa, food. 

American Hustle

Image
American Hustle   This is kind of a quirky movie that is a little bit too silly in some parts, but is actually pretty good overall.   The movie leans on some darker elements only to dip back to a softer movie.   That’s okay, because it doesn’t have to dip into the really darker side of storytelling.   David O. Russell may be a total asshole, but there is something cool about this gaudy and charming 70s throwback comedy/drama film.   Two con-people Bale and Amy Adams get caught up in a bigger con with a government agent.   The longer the con/bust goes, the more people get ensnared into the con/investigation.   Amy Adams’ boobs should have credit in the end titles too.   She has them on display in most of the movie.   Holy, crap.   Anyway, Adams really shines as the con-woman.   She’s great as the smart con-person. The staring roles are basically shared  between Bale and her.   She’s a strong characte...