Posts

Showing posts from August, 2009

21 Jump Street

Image
21 Jump Street While ‘truing’ my bicycle wheel, I went to hulu and watched 21 Jump Street. I watched about five episodes of this series. Minus the music, the actual show has aged well. And, surprisingly the acting is pretty good. Here are a few thoughts -Johnny Depp is the lead character. I think it is funny because he seems clean cut, but now he hangs out with Tim Burton seems dirty. - Holly Robinson Peete is hot: I used to have a huge crush on this lady. She still looks amazing today . -I always thought Steven Williams was the captain from the beginning, but it turns out he showed up in the middle of the first season. The first captain was killed off. Steven Williams was on X-Files and the cop on the Blues Brothers movie. - Richard Grieco showed up in the season three, and then had a spinoff named Booker . I remember when Grieco was supposed to be the new Depp. He's now just that guy that was on 21 Jump Street. What happened to this guy? Remember...

Fanboy-ism at its worst (the Rob Liefeld incident)

Image
Fanboy-ism at its worst (the Rob Liefeld incident) While listening to an Earth-2 podcast, they two hosts discussed an incident. They’re discussion caught my attention and I did a bit of research into the story. ( Earth-2 the show 333 ) First off, I am usually the one that really hates writers or artists and make it be known through my blog postings. I’ve ripped into quite a few writers, reality stars, and actors. I’ve written some mean things, but I’ve done it on the Internet and not to the person face to face. This encounter between a comic book fan and an artist goes beyond that. You can read the story here . Basically, the infamous comic book artist Rob Liefeld was signing and sketching for fans at the Chicago Comic-Con. A certain comic book fanboy walked up to Liefeld’s table said this, From Squiggly Lines Comics (Because I refuse to link to the actual Fanboy's web, the one behind the stunt.) ((“…I am a huge Captain America fan…” I tell him with ...

Worst Table Dance Ever: Drunk Girl vs. Glass Table

Worst Table Dance Ever: Drunk Girl vs. Glass Table The Table wins, flawless victory. Yeah, she’s drunk. Right after she falls through the glass table, she says, “It went into my…” And, it cuts out. Now, where exactly did the glass go? Somewhere dark? I’m sure someone will somehow make crashing through a table a dance now. What happened to her after this? Has she talked about this video? Note: Watch the guy’s expression on the left.

Anything Goes

Anything Goes I remember watching Temple of Doom when I was younger and loving the opening musical with Kate Capshaw. In this sequel/prequel, I loved the total departure the opening was compared to Raiders of the Lost Ark. They decided to do a big musical, which I thought was a big gamble. Looking at this clip, it reminds me of the times when Lucas and Steven Spielberg were still good at their jobs. Things to notice -Watch as the Paramount Logo morphs into the gong. That was brilliant. -Just as Kate Capshaw raises her hands the “Harrison Ford” appears above her hands. It makes it look like she is holding the title cards. -The Indiana Jones title card is shown behind Capshaw and she even blocks some of the letters. -I love how Capshaw sings in both Mandarin and English. Capshaw is good in the opening scene, but is annoying in the rest of the movie. -The whole opening is pretty amazing. Here’s a Flash Mob version of that song.

Inglourious Basterds (Part 2 of 2)

Image
Inglourious Basterds (Part 2 of 2) While the acting is amazing in this alt-historical film, I found the direction to be even better. The editing and the sense of style is pretty top notch. It is Quentin Tarantino ‘s skills in bringing tension and great script writing that elevates this war movie to another level altogether. There are three scenes that support the statement above. Each scene is long but very compelling. These three scenes are the linchpins of the movie. The opening scene with the French farmer and Col. Hans Landa is just incredible. The scene builds and builds until there is a major payoff. QT has some interesting close up shots in this scene where we see a man light up a pipe. He smokes this pipe and we know QT is making a statement with every movement and every action in this scene. It is a real shame he didn’t do it with the Mike Myers scene. The other scene I want to talk about is the famous French Tavern scene. In this scene, a few ...

Not The Cosbys XXX

Image
Not The Cosbys XXX Looking at the list over at the Huffington Pos t, they have a list of 11 Porn sitcom parodies and came across this little gem. This one really shocked me. I had no idea someone wanted to see a Bill Cosby porn parody, but here it is. I can't look at the Cosby Show the same again. Actually, there are a lot of attractive stars in this film, even though I haven't seen the movie for uh...research. I don't know how anyone can be turned on by a show with Bill Cosby and his strange sweaters. If anything, The Cosby Show's spin off A Different World would be a more suitable porn parody to me. Side videos (Behind the scenes and safe for work) Tee Reel on the set of the 'film' : He plays Cockroach in this version. Another video A very cute Melody Nakai, I've never heard of her . You have to wonder how Bill Cosby feels about the parody. What's next a Ghost Dad parody? How about Lenard Part Six ? Screw it, let's ...

That famous Sega CD ad (Angry Black Guy version)

That famous Sega CD ad (Angry Black Guy version) I remember watching this little commercial when it first came on. I never understood why all the Sega commercial felt like Mountain Dew ads. All the Sega ads usually scream at the potential buyer. Does that sound like a good business plan? The video above is notoriously famous because it really doesn’t make any sense at all. Here are a few reasons why… ~The Angry Black Man ™ in the army coat: Why did this guy hack into this cable system? Why is he yelling at the white dude? Then again Billy Mays also yelled at people too. ~Showing what appears to be Night Trap will not make people want to buy the CD add on. ~Why show him something that can potentially kill him? It even appears to have changed him into a damn Joker type at the end. Side Note: I really want to know who the angry black guy is in the commercial. He really looks familiar.

Max Payne

Image
Max Payne What the hell was that? Loosely based on the videogame series of the same name, this movie is so bad that it makes the other videogame movie Hitman look like a masterpiece. The movie wants to be taken seriously but has so many lame moments that the whole movie comes across as dry and stale. Dry and stale is also the way to describe Mark Wahlberg ’s (and his funky bunch) performance. He walks around the movie with this scowl on his face like he tasted a bad can of beer and hasn’t figured out how to get rid of said taste. It is like he hasn’t even bothered to change from his character in the Pl anet of the Apes remake. Wahlberg can act, because he proves it in Four Brothers and The Departed . He’s not trying. Mila Kunis plays some assassin chick that has very little to do with the plot of the movie. While I like Ludacris as a rapper, I found him to be unconvincing as a cop here, especially one that is supposed to be in charge of an investigation. D...

Delgo VS. Avatar

Delgo wants to fight Avatar … Slash Film is reporting that the creators of the worst viewed movies of all time Delgo is thinking about taking legal action against James Cameron ’s new flick Avatar. You can read t he rest of their thoughts here , ((S.T. Vanairsdale of Movieline said, "James Cameron seems to have been influenced by some similar visuals and themes," going on to declare the two films share "uncanny parallels." WorstPreviews.com cited that the "characters and the universes of both films are almost identical." Online movie critic, JoBlo, said Avatar and Delgo were "undeniably similar," also noting that a side-by-side comparison of the two films was "pretty damn conclusive and practically warrant a likeness lawsuit from the lowest grossing movie ever to be filed against the director of the highest grossing movie ever.")) I really don’t see it. The main races are a little different. Delgo has strange frog people and Av...

Inglourious Basterds (Review Part 1 of 2)

Image
Inglourious Basterds (Review Part 1 of 2) Inglourious Basterds (IB) displays director Quentin Tarantino’s strengths and weaknesses. The positives certainly outweigh the negatives. Tarantino takes all the things he learned over the years from Kill Bill and Grindhouse and improves upon them in IB. Inglourious Basterds isn’t a perfect film, but it certainly is one of the best-crafted films you’ll see this summer. And, it should be a given because the movie has been floating around in various stages of development for ten years. The movie is finely tuned to the point that it almost hurts it in certain scenes. There are a few scenes that truly harm the tension and storyline and bring the film to a grinding halt. I can tell Tarantino loves these scenes and won’t delete them. It’s not out of arrogance that he doesn’t trim them. It is love for his own work that is part of his problem. One scene that almost harms the movie is the damn Mike Myers scene. Myers ...

Random Things

Image
Will: "Xenu dropped me off." ____________________________________ Random Things ~ A girl breaks a damn Trampoline! : The description says she was too fat, but she's isn't fat at all. The trampoline just gave out nothing more. It was a cheap product. I love their reactions too. ~ The most angry Fat Guy ever : Holy crap, this guy is pissed. It almost seems like he's wearing a damn fat suit. I tried to find out who this guy was. Through a deleted video search a name Josh Beller came up. Of course someone has already made a music video . It looks like the owner of the original video is having second thoughts about his internet fame and is deleting it everywhere. ~ Hancock 2 being fast tracked : Why is this movie even being produced? I know it made a lot of money, but I can think of no one that really wanted to see another movie after watching the first one. It wasn't a good movie. Peter Berg couldn't keep the camera straight. ~So let ...

Sorority Row trailer

Sorority Row trailer The trailer above is completely different than the one I saw this weekend at the theaters. This one really gives away too much story, but this one is edited better. I at first thought this movie seems familiar, and I realized it was because it reminded me of I Know What You Did Last Summer . I mean a hooded person goes around killing young attractive people. Plus, they also try to cover up the murder and someone is picking them off one by one. I did some research, well Wiki , and it would appear that Sorority Row is a remake of a 80s slash flick The House on Sorority Row . I guess it is the other way around, but I know is based on a book. Now if the killer turns out to be the Fisherman from the I Know series, that is a bit much. Regardless, this probably won't be a good flick, but it is an R-rated movie. You can check out a (Not for safe work) shower scene clip here . Besides the boobs and gore shots, I have a question. Why does the Asian ...

a few videos

Top ten worst videogame commercials I actually remember all these ads. Why is Phil Hartman in two completely different videogame company ads? ___________________________________ Another cool list is the Worst Videogame movies -I have to agree with him that MK: The Movie isn't that bad. -Wing Commander is so laughable that the game scenes are better than the movie.

District 9

Image
District 9 Neill Blomkamp , pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Peter Jackson should also receive some praise too for giving this guy a chance and sticking his own neck out there for Blomkamp. District 9 fully immerses you into a dark and gritty science fiction film that also passes itself off as an action film as well. D9 handles balance between the social commentary and the violent action scenes extremely well. The movie isn’t easy to watch because of the harshness of some of the abuse scenes, but I enjoyed the movie a lot. For a mere 30 million dollars, D9 has some amazing special effects. I was fully convinced that there were actual “shrimp-like” creatures walking around and interacting with humans. Every part on the creatures’ faces seemed real. Even though their faces are animated through CGI, you can fully understand their expressions. There are two aliens that really stand out and are very convincing. They are a father and son team, and I...

Sequels that don’t cut it

Image
Hilary Swank: “Mr. Miyagi, will you teach me the ways of Karate?” Mr. Miyagi: “Kick! Punch! It's all in the mind. If you wanna test me, I'm sure you'll find that all the things, I'll teach ya is sure to beat ya, nevertheless you'll get a lesson from teacher now” Hilary Swank: “Uh, you’re quoting from PaRappa the Rapper.” Mr. Miyagi: “Kick. Punch. Chop. Block. Once more now, Kick. Punch. Chop, And Block.” Hilary Swank: “You’re not even trying.” Mr. Miyagi: “Hmm, so says the woman that starred in The Reaping .” ________________________________________________ Screen Crave.com has “ 9 Examples of Sequels Ruining Great Franchise ” I agree with their findings, and I’d like to add my two cents to it. There comes a point when there are too many sequels, and the franchise simply becomes a joke. (Like the Batman movies) The Karate Kid 3 & 4 : I’ve come to really hate the third film because of the sheer stupidity of Dani...

Adam vs. Anderson

Loveline: Adam vs. Anderson There was a big blow up between Adam Carolla and Engineer Anderson. Anderson and Adam are constantly at each other throats. David Alan Grier actually leaves the show because the argument. DAG starts to really get mad. Anderson’s argument about Bryan kissing Adam’s ass is completely wrong. There was one huge argument Adam and Bryan had about the I-phone that went on for 20 minutes. It should also be noted that Anderson and Adam have never gotten along. This reminded me of the old days of Loveline.

Christina Hendricks

Image
I’ve been watching Mad Men On Demand. I love the show, but one person really stands out. Christina Hendricks I’m really digging this full-figured redhead. She has an amazing body and a cute face, and she wears those dresses well.

Not exactly Saw...

Not exactly Saw... I have to thank Nick for showing this clip.

Random Thoughts

Random Thoughts ~Man, this year has sucked for me. A lot of things have mounted up and made this a shitty year for me. I won't go into details, but it hasn't been a fun year. I'm looking forward to next year. ~ Lady Gaga : This lady is starting to get on my nerves. While I think she might not be a hermaphrodite, she’s really playing it up. Perhaps, this was all a set up to get us to continue to talk about her. Now, she keeps talking about the fact that she is gay and wants Kanye West to know that. Not that he really cares and neither do I. And, what's up with the stupid outfits? ~Some reviews about Octomom are coming in about that 2hr special. The general agreement is that she is a terrible person and seems to like the fame part but not the motherhood part. ~ Microsoft Word is banned? : Pretty much so. Probably the only thing that seems to be worth a damn in MS is Word (and Powerpoint). It seems strange to know that an injunction on could affect MS...

that's just mean

Woman yells, “Heil Hitler” to a Jewish man because he supports Obama’s heath care system. Wow, this woman is an asshole. Despite whatever way you feel about an issue, why would you insult the man by making a racial remark like that? How does yelling Heil Hitler help your case? Well, the news is reporting that the woman’s name is Pamela Pilger. She has to be one of the worst people I’ve seen in a long time. Are you that crazy to say that in front of him? People are really taking this health care protest too far. At some point, some will open fire at one of these things. Plus, you have TV folks encouraging this stuff through fear mongering. Let’s not forget that the new catch phrase is calling Obama Hitler now. Then you have this crazy woman compares Hitler to Obama’s policy. I do like how Barney Frank rips into her. Enough is enough, people need to sit down and discuss this instead of making prearranged statements and threats.