Posts

Showing posts from June, 2008

Random Things

Image
I hated this movie, but it is not her worst film ever. Random Things ~I kind of like the news that Guy Richie’s Marriage is on the rocks . However, it appears he is trying to save his marriage. I personally think he's become a worst director since marrying Madonna. Why in the hell would you have Madonna as the star of your next film, aka Swept Away ? Madonna has proven she can't act. But somehow Guy thinks that being his wife makes him capable of getting a good performance out of her. It didn't work. Guy Richie, let her go. ~Baywatch Nights: Just for kicks, here is the intro to the opening to that Baywatch spinoff . I heard originally the show wasn't even supposed to be a spinoff of Baywatch, but this new show needed a boost so they made it a part of the Baywatch universe. With the ratings going into the crapper, they decided to make the show more like the X-files adding vampires and monsters to the storylines in the second season. WTF? I didn’t think ther...

Wanted (2008) Part 2 of 2

Image
Why is the Tomb Raider chick staring at me? Wanted The Acting What really stands out about this movie compared to other action movies is the acting. While there are some acting screw-ups, the cast is very sound. But, Morgan Freeman is the best thing about this movie. He just brings a fatherly presence to his role. He makes otherwise impossible dialogue work on the screen. At one point, he shows the main character the method in which this society of assassins receives their targets. On paper, this would seem absurd, but with Freeman it is believable. James McAvoy ranges from being good to fair. And Angelina Jolie ’s acting is enjoyable to watch, but she’s too skinny to be believable as a kick-ass assassin. Terence Stamp is in this movie and I kept thinking about his other role in Get Smart (2008) whenever he appeared on screen. When he left a scene, I kept thinking, Stamp: “Well, see ya, I have to go shoot scenes for Get Smart.” What didn’t work… ...

William Shatner Strikes Back

Image
William Shatner being a total a-hole http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfDHIqmUUMs&feature=related William Shatner does a recording for some spot and the director makes some suggestions on his delivery. It goes all down hill from there. You can hear Shatner laugh and you can tell he’s fuming. You have to hear this, because he makes fun of director during the recording. Then, this director passive aggressively tries to worm out of it. The director almost cries toward the end. What a wimp. It’s only Captain Kirk. I can only imagine the hell Shatner’s co-workers had to go through while working with him. Classic Shatner… (Btw, this is sort of a strange sequel to the ‘Sabotage’ outtake he did years earlier.) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlOTRxt-dIw&feature=related

King of all Dorks

King of all Dorks ( A douche bag guy reveals a bit too much about how creepy he really is. ) Listen to the message above within the link. This guy goes from being just an asshole to a little creepy. The second message has him threatening to cut her off for good. (She doesn't know what she's missing.) Dmitri just doesn't get it. Someone in his 'circle' needs to tell him that he's a dork. As some in the comment section stated this might be a fake message, and it is too good to be true. I'm not sure. Btw, why did this women even give out her real number. When you don't like a guy, aren't you supposed to give him a fake number?

Wanted (2008) Part 1 of 2

Image
Wanted (2008) Part 1 of 2 Part Matrix and part Jumper; Wanted is an entertaining movie with very cool action scenes. Just let go of the notion of the laws of physics and logic and you’ll enjoy yourself. Wanted is about a hapless guy named Wesley Gibson (James McAvoy) who lives a rather shitty life. His girlfriend is cheating on him with his best friend, and his boss is giving him a lot grief. After an encounter with Angelina Jolie , he discovers he has certain abilities that to he didn’t know he had. Now, a group of assassins, The Fraternity, want him to join their organization. Like the Matrix before it, Wanted is a stylized comic movie that works more than it fails, but the flaws are very apparent. This movie, based loosely on a comic book series by Mark Miller, is full of huge action set pieces that are truly amazing to watch on the big screen. Cars and trains go flying into the air that even the Wachowski brother would be jealous. It is also an intense...

Random Bunch

Image
To some, this is a bed. (that includes me) Random Bunch ~As I have stated before, I go on a lot of long walks through the city. At one point last week, I got tired and fell asleep on a public bench for about thirty minutes. And surprisingly, it wasn't a bad nap in a public place. Sure, I looked like a bum, but still it was a good sleep. ~ The Brothers of Solomon : I heard this movie was really bad, but these clips are really bad. Return the kid : This is bad. Hey, it has a 16% on Rotten Tomatoes . ~ The Angry Videogame Nerd takes on Superman videogames : Is there any Superman videogames that don't suck ass. Yes, he will discuss Superman 64 in another video. ~ Escape from Bug Island ?: This is really a game for Wii? Than I came to find out that it was a real game . The game does look like a slightly upgraded Gamecube game. ~Remember that Disaster Movie, well there is a trailer : Be scared. In the trailer we see them spoofing Iron Man, the Hulk, Juno, E...

Math Fail

Image
Okay, I found this on the failblog and I laughed. I have to admit I've answered questions like this in a goofy manner all the time. I usually get a “ha-ha” This Peter guy has the same sense of humor.

When Dane Cook fans attack...

Image
When Dane Cook fans attack... Last night, I received an Anonymous comment in my George Carlin post. Of course this commenter decided to leave a comment defending Dane Cook. Hell, he even called me a name. Here's what the D-bag had to say Anonymous said... Dane Cook built his fan base the exact way Carlin did you dolt. Its a new time and certainly not the world Carlin grew up in but dont fault DC for that. He is making people laugh with deep thoughts and ideas like GC. Vx This was a refreshing comment. I'm not sure why he needed to take the time out to defend his beloved Dane Cook. Well, of course I responded to the comment. Semaj said... Hold on, so you're saying Myspace was around during George's early days? How was that possible? I believe that was one of the ways Mr. Cook boosted his fanbase. Then, again I'm no Dane Cook expert. I'm sorry, Anon, but Dane Cook sucks ass. I guess you haven't seen some of his movies. He was...

Meet Dave's head

Image
What in all that is sane is this? http://www.bestweekever.tv/2008/06/25/caption-this-the-norbit-horse/ What kind of promotion is this? Why would someone think driving around with an oversized head in the back would be a positive promotion? I’m not sure how this oversized head will help promote awareness of Eddie’s new movie Meet Dave. Now, I’m hearing that you can go inside he head too. Btw, you know that someone is going to deface this head. http://www.eurweb.com/story/eur44515.cfm I guess the joke is on us, because Eddie Murphy still makes shitty movies and people still go out to see them. Check out this trailer http://youtube.com/watch?v=IowORgSlhRc Look for Eddie in Beverly Hills Cop 4 too. Why?

Get Smart

Image
You will believe a man can talk into his shoe. Get Smart (2008) First thing is first; I loved the old show that this movie is based on. And, I knew going into this movie that I would likely not enjoy the new Get Smart. For many years, producers have tried to bring this show back in some way or another with terrible results. (Anyone remember the remake series from 1995 with Andy Dick?) Well, I can’t say I really liked the movie that much, but it did make me laugh in a few places. It’s not a bad film. Steve Carell doesn’t try to do a bad impression of the Don Adams character. It’s a completely different version of the character. And, I didn’t have a problem with that either. Carell fills in the role fairly well. Actually, all the actors were good. The Rock is freaking great in the movie and steals the show. The problem is most of the jokes weren’t funny and not fully realized. It feels like they played it too safe in order to appeal to a mass audience. T...

George Carlin

Image
George Carlin RIP George Carlin was certainly the guy I’m probably the most similar to for the simple reason I am just as cynical as he was. He would go off on these rants like it was no body’s business. So, I respected that about him. He spoke his mind, had something meaningful to say and made people laugh. If you can educate and entertain at the same time, then that’s half the battle. That’s something some of these new comedians need to learn. It’s not about the product, but about bringing something important to our collective pop culture…something that will out live you. (People like Dane Cook need to know this.) While I didn’t agree with some of his anti-society jokes and statements, he always had a convincing reason for every statement he’d make. Hey, the guy was Mr. Conductor on Shining Time Station . I will say this; I only wish I can live as long as he did and accomplish so much. The man died at 71. My claim to fame was working at a damn Kroger for...

No Love for The Love Guru

Image
Get Smart beats the living crap out of The Love Guru I saw Get Smart, and it wasn't a good movie by any stretch, but it wasn't insanely terrible either. And, the rotten tomatoes score for Get Smart and The Love Guru pretty show you which movie was reviewed better. (Actually, the Love Guru received a rating of 16 % and it only made 14 million.) Just like Adam Sandler , Mike Myers needs to grow out of the stuff that made him so famous in the 90s. Just like the Clintons, the 90s are over it's time for a change, Mike. I have to wonder if the studio knew that they had a stinker on their hands, because they marketed the hell out of this thing. There were a few really bad viral marketing projects. But, did they really need to spend 60 million dollars on this movie? Make sure to check out Harry Knowles' review of the movie : I generally disagree with 75% of what Harry says most of the time, but he has me laughing with this review. First Showing has a story...

Xenu vs. Carolla

Image
Is Oprah really Xenu? Adam Carolla takes on Scientology back in the Loveline days. I was going through the Adam Carolla message board and came across the recording above. I loved this rant of Adam bashing Scientology. I find this funny, because Dr. Drew, Adam's old partner, took a stance against Scientology and Tom Cruise. But, I guess Drew received too much heat from the Church and backed off . Come on, Dr. Drew, they called you a Nazi. They believe your profession is a giant scam, and you backed off. Take a cue from your friend Adam and tell them to “F' off”. Hail, Xenu

Semi-Pro (Un-rated version)

Image
Semi-Pro (Un-rated version) Jackie Moon (Will Ferrell) is the owner/coach/player of the ABA team the Tropics and he discovers that the ABA will go out of business at the end of the season. This also means his team will disappear, if Jackie doesn’t do something about it. That’s the central plot of the movie, but there’s so many random jokes and subplots thrown into the mix that the main plot almost becomes buried in the goofiness. Semi-Pro is Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby and Anchorman on acid and mushrooms. There are so many jokes and subplots jammed inside that almost none of them really pay off in the end. The movie is full of funny people, but most of them never stand out as being compelling, with the exception of André Benjamin (Outkast), who isn’t a comedian. But, he handles himself fairly well as the straight man. I just didn’t find much in the movie that really worked and I really wanted to like this movie too. Will Ferrell still hasn’t...

Joan Rivers is F'ing sorry

Image
Here is Joan Rivers in the movie Star Trek Insurrection At this point, I've started hating Joan Rivers. She's one of those people that needs to retire and disappear. I don't know who she's fooling with her multiple surgeries. Her face is so deformed that it's not even funny anymore But, for some reason she's been in the news again and I sort of like it too. On British TV, Joan dropped an F and S bomb on live TV . Here's her cussing outburst on the show Loose Women . You have to love the reaction from the women on the show.

Starship Troopers 3: Marauder trailers

Image
Ah, yes another trailer for Starship Troopers 3 (Japanese version) Here's the American trailer Both trailers are pretty bad, though the Japanese version gives away too much at the end, and the FX shots are terrible. This will be atrocious. I also didn't know that Jolene Blalock stars in the movie too. Looking at her IMDB page, I can tell she hasn't been too busy of late, other than showing up in magazine shoots. When your co-star is Casper Van Dien, you know you've hit rock bottom. But, they're still centering the promotional stuff around her. I will say this, I like the WWII outfits though.

Hulk Hogan's Celebrity Championship Wrestling

Image
Okay, I am really starting to hate Hulk Hogan even more now. If the way he’s handled all the current media attention wasn’t enough, now they’re giving him another show. http://www.efluxmedia.com/news_Cast_of_Hogans_Celebrity_Wrestling_Revealed_18685.html http://www.eonline.com/uberblog/b141456_bonaduce_screech_rodman_ready_smackdown.html It feels like someone in Hollywood really hates me. They’re giving Hulk Hogan another reality show? What about all the bad press he’s received over the past few weeks? But, that’s not the worst of it. It’s what the show is about that has me extremely apprehensive. The show is called Hulk Hogan's Celebrity Championship Wrestling. I take it that some has-been stars will go to the ring and train as wrestlers. This is like Dancing with the Stars , but worst. Who are some of the Has-beens showing up on the show? Read on David Arquette : I guess being married to Courteney Cox just isn’t enough for him. I believe he alre...

Be Kind Rewind

Image
Be Kind Rewind On the surface, Be Kind Rewind is just a comedy. But, as the story progresses, it becomes so much more. It becomes a heart-warming drama about community and that shared history that community has. And that’s what is so enjoyable about this movie; it is two movies in one. A rundown video store, that only carries videotapes, is in danger of being closed by the city. The city wants to move the people out and make way for Urban renewal. When the owner (Danny Glover) leaves to find a way to save his store, he puts Mos Def in charge of the store. In a strange turn of events, Jack Black’s body becomes magnetic and erases all the tapes in the store. Now, they take it upon themselves to recreate the videos using homemade methods. The way they go about making these videos is charming and funny. You can see that these two characters love the films they’re creating, but just don’t have the skill level to make it the correct way. This portion of the movi...

The Incredible Hulk review (part 3 of 3)

Image
This shot is a direct reference to the TV show. Overall There are still many problems with this Hulk movie too, but not nearly as many as the first one. I understand why Marvel wanted to distance itself from the first one, but why start this movie in South America right where Hulk (2003) left off? It gives people ‘not in the know’ the impression that this movie is tied to first one. That's only a minor thing. Craig Armstrong is the composer and does an okay job with the music. I won’t say it’s Marvel’s best score, but I give them points for bringing back the old piano theme from the Hulk TV show. That was a nice touch. The score works in the bigger scenes, but doesn't work with the romantic moments. (Spider-Man's romantic theme worked better.) The movie is fun, but certainly not as compelling as Iron Man and it will bring back memories of the TV show, which this movie more based on than the first film. On the minus side, the movie does feel a little...

Heigl wants to leave?

Image
Does Katherine Heigl passive aggressively want to leave the show? http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/14/arts/television/14heig.html?ref=arts http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/story?id=5071110&page=1 (("I did not feel that I was given the material this season to warrant an Emmy nomination," she said in a statement released by her publicist Thursday. "In addition, I did not want to potentially take away an opportunity from an actress who was given such materials.")) Now, you might think she’s simply doing this so someone else can get a chance to receive the award, but I don’t buy it. This is a public slap in the face to the writers. While I’ve never seen an episode, I bet what she says is true, but why make it so public surrounding the Emmy story? It just seems like a passive disrespect of the show. I’m fine with actors announcing their contempt for the direction of a show or character, but this feels like Heigl doesn’t want to do TV shows anymore ...

The Incredible Hulk review (part 2 of 3)

Image
The Acting Now, the acting is where the movie really has its strengths. It was a wise choice to have Edward Norton in the lead role. He doesn’t become an Emo scientist like the last guy in the 2003 version. While there is certainly some missing character development, I still found this Bruce Banner likeable. Norton is great, so check him out. (However, Norton feels the need to money with editing for some reason.) Liv Tyler simple plays a non-elf version of Arwen, but I didn’t find her that distracting like Jennifer Connelly. As you are already aware, Tim Roth plays the main bad guy in the movie, again he’s part feels a bit limited and not fleshed out. But, at least they didn’t throw in the main villain within the last 10 minutes like Hulk (2003). You get a sense that age is catching up to him, but he still wants to be a fighter. William Hurt kicks ass playing Gen. Thaddeus 'Thunderbolt' Ross. I think Hurt is the only one that can follow Sam Elliot...

The Incredible Hulk review (part 1 of 3)

Image
The Incredible Hulk It’s better than that depressing 2003 Hulk movie, while it has some pacing flaws toward the middle. It’s what we wanted in a Hulk movie, a green guy busting shit up. The Story The story is simple without all the art house/psycho blather in the Ang Lee version. This movie is a total reboot from the first film, and there is only one aspect that they booth share ( Lou Ferrigno plays a security guard in both films). Bruce Banner is on the run from military and in hiding in Brazil. The movie quickly turns into a chase movie, which is one of it strengths. The love story is only partly annoying this time around and the dialogue is good, minus a few lines between the lovers. I do think they should have thinned out the love storyline just a bit more for good measure, but I didn’t find it boring. You don’t need a compelling story for a big green guy that smashes cars and choppers. Just get him to smash up shit. I also liked the fact this Hulk en...