Posts

Showing posts from June, 2010

DC Completely changes the design of Wonder Woman.

Image
DC Completely changes the design of Wonder Woman. http://www.comicsalliance.com/2010/06/29/new-wonder-woman-costume/ You know what? I really like the new design. I think the "no pants" old design was a bit too old for me. If she wants to be taken seriously, this new design is the way to go. And, I find it sexier than the old outfit. I would think the old costume would get a little unfitting at times. It looks like DC’s main universe is getting a major reboot/change involving Wonder Woman’s history. From DC , ((The Gods, for reasons of their own but which may have something to with their survival and perhaps the survival of Earth itself, have changed the timeline. In the new timeline, years ago the Gods removed their protection from Paradise Island, and left it vulnerable to attack. And attacked it was. Led by a dark figure, a veritable army descended upon the Island, equipped with weapons that could kill even the Amazons. Outgunned, doomed, Hippolyta gave over h...

Chris Brown, really? Is that crying? There's no crying in BET

Image
Chris Brown, really? Is that crying? Maybe, Kanye West should have interrupted him. Man, I'm calling BS on this one, but not because I say it was a PR move. But, are people willing to forgive and forget? I don’t know about you, but I thought it was a little pathetic. But to be fair, he did a pretty good job before he broke down crying. From MTV , ((But Brown's onstage breakdown divided viewers : Was he emotionally overwhelmed by the moment, or were his tears a publicity stunt designed to garner favor after his assault of former girlfriend Rihanna ?)) Does weeping on stage make me forget the picture of a beaten, bruised and bloody Rihanna ? Nope. But I think the MJ song “Man in the Mirror” kind of hit a little too close to home for Chris Brown. At that moment, he started to actually think about the horrible things he did to her before, during and after the beating. (Exactly how did those nude pictures of Rihanna get released on the Internet, Chris?) Junebu...

Poor Jonah Hex

Image
Poor Jonah Hex In just two weeks, Jonah Hex has only made 9.1 million dollars at the box office. Keep in mind that the movie's budget is 47 million . Ouch... That's not a good investment. Jonah Hex is one of those movies that was plagued with behind the scenes problems from pre-production to post-production. From Reuters , ((But after Hayward delivered his cut, Warners decided to move in a different direction and brought in "I Am Legend" helmer Francis Lawrence to oversee reshoots. How extensive those reshoots were remains a subject of debate. )) That sounds vaguely like Fanboys and Catwoman. Both of those movies were reshot extensively, and we saw how they turned out. You would think WB would've learn from its big mistake on Catwoman, but that simply isn't the case. And, it would seem WB will see some red because of the poor box office take. I'm sure WB would like to forget Hex all together. Btw, the way here's a very good picture...

Michael Jackso: Remember the Time

Remember the Time This is not one of MJ’s best songs. It was around this time that MJ’s music started to follow trends instead of setting them. This probably has to do with the fact Teddy Riley wrote part of the song with MJ. That’s not to say this isn’t a fun song. It just isn’t in MJ’s best list for me. John Singleton directed the music video. He uses a lot of rich colors to give us an Egyptian setting. Notes -The Melting effects aren’t that good. I’m sure they were effective at the time. -Tommy Tiny Lister: Yes, that’s him playing the guard trying to capture MJ. - Iman looks amazing here. She is a very pretty woman, and think she probably looks slight hotter in her Star Trek 6 role than here. But I love her busty outfit. -The Dance Portion of the video is very impressive and it reminds me of the Coming to America dance number. - Eddie Murphy in a non-speaking role: Having Murphy here is a kind of a joke because Murphy used to rip i...

The Breakfast Club: XXX Parody

The Breakfast Club: XXX Parody When I watch the classic teen movie The Breakfast Club, I don't think of porn. This one seems a little odd to me, but I do like that they captured the setting of the original movie fairly well. Check out the trailer for the real movie to compare . Notes -What exactly is that chick doing in the background in the 1:17 mark? -They pretty much matched the outfits from the original movie. -They also matched the sculpture in the library too. -They changed the gender of the principal. What's next a parody for the A-Team? It will probably happen...

The Room (Worst movie ever created?)

The Room (Worst movie ever created?) This is not to be confused with the excellent video game Silent Hill 4: The Room . The trailer Crap, even the trailer sucks. Obscurus Lupa did a rather funny review on this movie a few weeks back . She pointed out that this guy named Tommy Wiseau wrote, directed and acted in the movie called The Room and most people consider the movie the worst film ever created. Wiseau himself seems to be just as terrible as his character in the movie. He claims he has a few projects coming up, but I'm not sure about that. After making the movie and getting the negative response from critics, he flipped the script and claimed the movie was a “Black Comedy” . But, most of the actors have stated that the movie was supposed to be a straight drama. One cast member says this about the director/actor and the drama stuff. From EW.com ((''I don't have anything to say about Tommy as a person. He is a nice guy. But he is full of s---. He...

Lady Gaga's “Alejandro” with Madonna and Ace of Base?

Lady Gaga's “Alejandro” influenced by Madonna's 'La Isla Bonita ? I kind of mentioned it a while back in my review . Both songs have a Latin flavor, but they say Ace of Base's “Don't Turn Around”. And, it matches with the Ace of Base song completely structurally. Someone actually remixed the Ace of Base with Lady Gaga. It turns out both songs end up better for it. I like this version much better than the originals. Some people are saying Gaga stole the song, but the songs are different enough that I can't support that theory. It is more of a mash up of Gaga using “Don't Turn Around”, “Like a Prayer” , and “ 'La Isla Bonita ”. Gaga's Telephone has a lot of Michael Jackson influences. And to be fair, the song “Don't Turn Around” was actually s ung by Tina Turner first . I can't believe this, but I am defending Lady Gaga here.

Random Bits

Image
Random Bits ~Cell Phone Blues?: I've gotten more “wrong numbers” than actual calls for me. On my voice mail, One was about some guy wanting Adam to fill in for him backstage because he had a Wake to get to out of town. He only met “Adam” once before, but he was really in a pickle. His words not mine. The same guy called back later asking “Hey, is this Adam?”. “No, I'm not Adam,” I replied back. He seemed confused before I told him my name. I just hope he got a hold of Adam. ~ Viacom loses lawsuit with Youtube/Google : The only reason Viacom sued Youtube was to boost their own website Spike/iFilm. J eepers Media totally rips into Viacom and shows they've been stealing youtube videos from users for years. It has very little to do with copyright theft and more to do with shutting down their rival. Oh, they also claimed they never had porn on Ifilm/spike. I know for a fact they did because I used to watch their Naked Joke of the Week. That was when pornstar...

Guy gets caught trying to steal a guy's bike

G uy gets caught trying to steal a guy's bike Gangstalking from tummyauto on Vimeo . Security does nothing when they show up. It is a little sad that the security does nothing and chews out the victim. This another one of those videos where educated black people hate watching because how stupid and ignorant some of the black people act in the video. We usually see videos like this and go, “Oh, boy.”

The Karate Kid (2010) (Review Part 1 of 2)

Image
The Karate Kid (2010) (Review Part 1 of 2) I still remember going to the movie theater with my entire family and marveling at the original Karate Kid back in 84. I remember the entire crowd erupting in cheers when Daniel preformed the crane kick. I was like Daniel, that being an outsider. So, the first movie really connected with me as a kid. So, how does the remake stand up its 1984 counterpart? Uh, should it be called The Kung-Fu Kid, but I’ll let that pass because this remake surprisingly follows the old movie in almost every way. They pretty much followed all the plot points from the original movie that you can guess what happens from scene to scene. I wanted to hate this movie, but I came away from it really enjoying it mainly because it reminded me how special the original has in my heart. Some of the fighting scenes are a little rougher than the original and the bullies are a little meaner here, but it is still the same story. This remake isn’t prefect, ...

Bristol Palin can't act...

Bristol Palin can't act ... Did you enjoy that wonderful acting from Bristol Palin? Given that she has zero talent when it comes to acting, why exactly is she in front of the camera? Are young girls supposed to look up to her even though she failed at abstinence to begin with? Her robotic acting reminds me of Vicki ( Tiffany Brissette ) from Small Wonder. By the way, the show is called The Secret Life of the American Teenager . I'm guessing that Bristol will show up throughout the upcoming episode.

Jeremy London kidnapping???

Image
Jeremy London (what a strange story) If you haven’t heard by now, there is a story going around about Mallrats guy Jeremy London. London has had a history of substance abuse. And, I have to wonder if that was the reason he didn’t show up anymore Kevin Smith movies. Recently, London has claimed that two-three men kidnapped him at gunpoint and forced him to buy drugs and alcohol. There were reports that he escaped from the 12-hour drugged kidnapping and told the cops. That’s right you read it correctly. Does any of this sound plausible to you? Why do I get the feeling there is more to the story? The reason I say there is more to the story is the overreaction on London's part. He's planning on suing his own mother over her claims that he made the story up to cover his drug problem. F rom Herald Sun , ((London's lawyer, Catherine Lombardo, told the website that her client was suing his mother, Debbie Nielsen, twin brother Jason and Jason's girlfri...

The Green Hornet (trailer)

The Green Hornet (trailer) Well, the trailer is certainly not that good. Actually, it is downright horrible. It feels like something some out of touch “hip” studio guy just cookie-cutter-ed this thing. Why did we need the Hip-hop/rock music? Did we need to see the “extreme!” shot of machine guns coming out of the car? Some of t his is taken from Wiki , so it isn't 100% factual. However, it should be noted that the movie has a long history of false starts and production problems. - Michel Gondry was attached to the project back in the 90s. -Kevin Smith wrote a script and came very close to starting production before he lose interest in the project. I heard rumors of Jason Lee being the Green Hornet, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. - Stephen Chow came on board as director and for the role of Kato. He later left the production as director but stated that he was still going to play Kato. After some time passed, Chow dropped out of the Kato role. -Sony...

Dragonball: Evolution

Image
Dragonball: Evolution What the F’ did they do to the Dragonball franchise? I wasn’t a huge fan of the oringal Dragon Ball series, but enjoyed the Dragon Ball Z series. I knew going in that this movie was coming going to suck, but it looks like it is even worst. No one in the production even tries to make good film. Words can’t describe the sheer badness of this movie. The acting is bad. The writing is cluttered with mess. The special effects - Justin Chatwin is the worst thing about movie. So, we get to have in almost every scene. He keeps putting on this goofy stare that makes him look like a dork. - Chi Chi is hot and the only thing worth seeing in this movie. Jamie Chung plays her and she is very hot. I’m not sure I wanted a damn Reality Star to play her though. -Confusing plot?: You can’t take a entire TV series plotline and narrow it down to a movie time. The movie gets a little confusing in some places because of it. And, never seems...

Is Seinfield right about Lady Gaga?

Image
Is Seinfield right about Lady Gaga? Seinfeld is pissed. Lady Gaga got an upgrade From MSN , ((“You know, I changed my mind. I hate her,” Seinfeld said in his typical rant style after the sports jock pointed out that Gaga was taken to the comic’s seats after flicking off the photogs. “I can’t believe they put her in my box — that I paid for! You give people the finger and you get upgraded? Is that the world we’re living in now? I mean ...”)) Look, I don’t like Seinfeld, and I never liked his stupid sitcom, but I have to give him credit for flipping out about Gaga. Gaga pissed him off. From MSN, ((“How would I know anything? I wasn’t even there ... I came for the night game and heard all about it,” he said. “She’s a jerk. ... What is she giving the finger (for)? What’s the finger anyway? Speaking of interesting and new, how old is the finger, how did it even get to be the finger? “Get an act,” Seinfeld continued. “Rhinestone bikinis and giving people the finger? B...

Orphan (2009)

Image
Orphan (2009) Orphan is frustratingly bad and good at the same time. It is a shame the movie falls into complete slasher territory in the third act when the first two acts are handled so well. It’s like baking the best cake ever and then you drop it on the floor before you eat it. After a stillborn baby, a couple decides to adopt a little girl named Esther. At first Esther, seems to fit into the family structure, but certain things appear wrong with her. The movie does have some truly disturbing moments that will make your skin crawl. The opening scene with the dream scene involving a bloody childbirth will make you wench. But, the movie has a reason for showing you this disturbing dream, because it fits in with the character development of Vera Farmiga ’s character. The movie takes its time developing the descent of jealousy and mistrust of Vera’s character. Isabelle Fuhrman (Esther) is simply brilliant as this deranged “orphan”. Fuhrman goes so far in on...

Eva Ellington: A very funny interview

Image
Note: I had to go to her Myspace to get clean pictures of her. Eva Ellington isn't that smart, but she's damn cute. Deleted scenes video . You gotta love these pornstars. I love the fact she has no idea who Christopher Lloyd is or any of the Back to the future references. I love her answer to 'Do Gingers have souls?'. She says, “Gingers? Like a Gingerbread man?” Priceless. Clueless only works for cute girls. Because of her subject matter, I did some “research” on her. I came across her Twitter page , and low and behold she's already announcing she's quitting “the business”. From her Twitter page, ((Ladies & Gents Miss Ellington is out of this crazy business that has been such a fun ride and onto my next step in Life. Thank you 2 my fans ) ) You have to give her credit for going with the flow. Side Note Faye Reagan and her boyfriend have a very awkward interview : I really hate when people bring their damn pets everywhere they go....

The A-Team (Review 2 of 2)

Image
A-Team The Score Alan Silvestri ’s score does use the famous A-Team theme throughout the movie, but Silvestri brings his own flavor of themes and cues. Interestingly enough, Alan’s score is closer to his music from the late 80s and early 90s. I really enjoyed the score in the flying the tank scene. It is good to see some strong film scores from this movie and the new Karate Kid film. The Directing I felt there were a few instances where director Joe Carnahan went a bit too far with the “Shaky Cam” and it does distract from the action set pieces. It makes it hard to keep up with what is going on screen. It is a real shame that Carnahan has to fall into the Michael Bay action mode in a few scenes, because many of his scenes are solid. Final Thoughts The A-Tean is a fun and big movie adaptation to the much beloved TV from the 80s. They updated enough things to make it fit into our faster-paced views while maintaining some of the sillier elements that m...

Armond White loves Jonah Hex and hates Toy Story 3. (is it BS?)

Image
Wow, Armond White does it again: He proves he’s a douche bag, but a clever douche bag. Mr. White gave a negative review of the critically praised film Toy Story 3 and gave a down right glowing review of Jonah Hex. Hex is a film that is current at a 14% on Rotten Tomatoes. It just goes to prove he truly is a contrarian in the extremist form. He’s not doing this out of pure bad taste or opinion, but he’s clearly making these contrartian reviews to get a rise out of people. The kicker is that it is working. Armond White is no idiot, but he does thrive on negative attention. Toy Story 3 had an 100% freshness on Rotten Tomatoes until he and another reviewer came along. He knew his review would make it in the history books for knocking down TS3. I was going to sit on the sidelines and let this guy do his shit storm swirling, but I can’t take it anymore. Aft er Reading his laughable review of Jonah Hex, I had to type something about it. You really have to read ...

The Smurfs Teaser...Did they Smurf-it up?

The Smurfs Teaser...Did they Smurf-it up? Well, that was awful. It looks like they're going for the Garfield/Chipmunks vibe, and it looks terrible. The CGI looks bad and the concept is doomed to fail. Here's why... 1 Raja Gosnell is the director. He's responsible for Home Alone 3 , Scooby-Doo , Scooby Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed , and Beverly Hills Chihuahua . That’s not a good list of movies there. Why do I get the feeling we will hear, “The studio decided not to screen this for critics.” 2 It’s the Smurfs: The last time I checked no one was asking for a Smurfs movie. How many Smurf Conventions are there now? Is there a Smurf-Con? Side Note: While they're at it, why don't they make a Snorks movie as well? Hanna-Barbera produced both the Smurfs and the Snorks, and they both were broadcast on NBC.