Posts

Showing posts from January, 2012

Madonna’s playlist for the Super Bowl performance

Image
Madonna’s playlist has been released for her Super Bowl performance. With the exception of two songs, I am fine with the list.  It is pretty much her 80s and early 90s songs.  I was hopping she would stay away from her Euro-DJ techno music stuff that dominated her later career.  We want to hear her old stuff.  

Hawaii 5-0 Loves Subway!

Image
How much did Subway pay for this ad within the Hawaii 5-0 show? I saw this on Reddit and couldn't believe my eyes and ears. Placing products into movies and films is fine, but to have a character stop the flow of the story to talk about a certain product is down right low. Did the Subway guys write that portion of the script or did they just send a memo? Oh, and make sure you get all the subway logos into each shot from close ups to long shots. Oh, boy. Did this even needed to be shoved into the story? Nope, but this is another reason I've stopped watching most network TV shows. It looks like other people are a little peeved about it too .     I half expected Jared from Subway to pop his head in for a moment.   Maybe he did and I didn't see it.   Anyway, this post is brought to you by Grizzlebees!

Megan Fox Island (no Smoke Monster in sight)

Image
 Finally, Megan Fox chooses a good role...in Megan Fox Island. An Island of Megan Foxes, and no one to talk to them. Did they tap into my dreamworld via that Inception machine? Since Jennifer’s Body, I haven't thought she's picked the right roles or has even bothered showing up for movies. And, to be fair, she's not doing much today. You don't piss off one of the biggest producers in the world. I guess Michael Bay didn't direct this ad, despite it looking like a Bay ad. Plus, you can't go wrong with Mike Tyson Island. Now, that was funny. I have no idea what this tribe of Tyson will do to the boys. I did a little digging and found this on The Huffington Post, (( In an ad for the Brazilian-based language school CCAA shot in Oxnard, California, Megan Fox greets two non-English speaking guys who get washed up on a distant island with the words, "Welcome to Megan Fox Island." )) So, this is promotional ad is to get more peo...

Super (2010)

Image
Super (2010) Shut up, Crime! I actually enjoyed the movie a great deal.  However, I can’t recommend the movie to light at heart.  The movie is as violent as they come.  Actually, the movie might be more brutal than Kick-ass .  Up until the last 20 minutes, the movie is very much a dark comedy, and I can’t stress dark enough.  People get their heads cracked in by this “super” hero.  And, I found myself really enjoying the movie because of this.  Frank D'Arbo ( Rainn Wilson ) is a guy that works at as a cook at a restaurant, and has a rather boring life, but he has a lovely wife.  She is a recovering addict that ends up falling off the wagon and leaving Frank for a drug dealer named Jock ( Kevin Bacon ).  Distraught by this, Frank starts to lose his mind and becomes a superhero named The Crimson Bolt .  He fights crime by bashing people’s skulls in with a wrench.  While fighting crime, he even takes on a lovely sidekick ( E...

Knock Off

Image
Knock Off Man, another Jean Claude Van Damme movie that was bad and overlooked by everyone. This silly movie was just on Showtime. So, we got green explosions with knock off toys and clothes that are used as bombs. We also have the Van Damme acting like his doing Street Fighter II. The movie is set during the change over of Hong Kong from British rule to Chinese. There were a lot of movies with this setting during the late 90s. (Rush Hour). The movie is about terroists planting bombs within “knock off” pants and toys. They plan on setting off the bombs across the world. And, that's the plot of the movie. Brilliant... So, Van Damme takes on killer pants. The worst part is Rob Schneider is the costar and partner to Van Damme's character, and he's channeling his role in Judge Dredd. What is it with Schneider costarring with actors that are hard to understand? He's really super annoying here. I checked RT and it has a 8% with critics and 3...

Speaking of Ferris Bueller...

Image
Speaking of Ferris Bueller... This is the version of the song “Oh, Yeah” that was used in the end credits of the film. I listened the other version and realized it was the one used when  Ed Rooney  boards the school bus.  

Ferris Bueller sequel, an ad?

Image
Inspector Gadget IV? I hope not.   Ferris Bueller sequel, an ad? This could be a tie in with some viral marketing event with the old movie. But, what does this mean? Well, I looked through Reddit and discovered a link to a story about this short clip. It seems to be a promotional thing connected to a bigger Super Bowl ad . However, there are discussions about a possible sequel to Ferris Bueller (not to be confused with the lame TV show). From the Daily Mail , (( This suggests that all will be revealed during this year's Super Bowl, which takes place on February 5 and could be that Broderick has decided to step into Bueller's shoes once again. Read more:  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2092653/Ferris-Bueller-sequel-Matthew-Broderick-reprise-famous-role.html#ixzz1kgHNDaSH )) As I have written before, I love Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I remember when my mother rented the movie back in the day and I watched it. I liked the co...

Napoleon Dynamite is a cartoon show?

Image
Napoleon Dynamite is a cartoon show? Is it still 2004? I thought this show would have been HUGE back around 2004 or 2005. But is ND still as popular? I have to say that I like the Beavis and Butthead style of animation. I'll have to try this show on Hulu or On Demand, so I'm not going to bash it. But, do you remember the Space Balls cartoon show? Most people don't and I am getting that vibe here. We finally had the whole Napoleon Dynamite impressions die out, only for this show to bring them back. Now, we're going to get a bunch of people doing their bad impressions again, just like 2004. Great...

Bus Association doesn’t the Priceline ad…

Image
  Bus Association doesn’t the Priceline ad… No matter what you do, you’re going to piss off someone or something.  Now, that recent Priceline ad that kills of the Priceline character via a bus explosion, has rubbed a certain organization the wrong way. From CNN , (( The American Bus Association is asking that Priceline pull an ad that shows its longtime spokesman William Shatner dying in a fiery bus explosion, saying that it believes the ad is in bad taste. )) Uh, if we use this form of logic, then this ad and Star Trek Generations should offend bridge builders because Shatner died in both of these scenes falling off a bridge.  Is it really in poor taste?  I thought it was rather funny, but the funniest part is Shatner cutting off the Priceline Negotiator theme song.  Every group has to be offended by something I guess.  From CNN , (( Group spokesman Dan Ronan concedes that he doubts any potential customers ...

SearchQu is a piece of crap: Annoying program

Image
SearchQu is a piece of crap: Annoying program My brother downloaded some programs to my computer and to my surprised my Google home page changed to the ever crappy searchqu page without my permission. I was really pissed about this change too. Then, I attempted to change my homepage back to Google and it wouldn't let me. I did some digging and came across some people that had the same problems with this annoying add-on . I removed most of the parts of the program, but there are a few hidden elements within the Firefox version. Because, windows did a reset update and I noticed the searchqu came back up in that browser. Why would you want to force someone to use your search engine in such a intrusive manner?  

failed...

Image
Is this the true meaning of fail ?   Remember, kids, stay in school  (or Shcool)  And remember, there are no "backspaces" on street painting.  

Dixie Square Mall gone?

Image
Dixie Square Mall While watching the commentary on the by Paw on the Blues Brother review , he mentioned the Dixie Square Mall. I looked into the comment section and it was stated that the mall was being destroyed this month. I got a little upset with that news. The Dixie Square Mall chase from the classic movie The Blues Brothers is one of my favorite car chase scenes. The production company rented the closed mall for about eight weeks. -Yes, that was Frank Oz asking for a Miss Piggy doll. -Right as the car cashes through the store, a woman can be seen jumping out of the way in the nick of time. And she crashes right into the side of a counter. That must have hurt! -Also, you can see an R2-D2 toy in the lower right corner near the same counter the woman crashes into at the 19 second mark. -They destroyed a lot of things in the scene that would make my head spin. Some stores didn't want to be associated with the movie and had their store faces chang...

William Shatner to be killed off in a new Priceline Ad?

Image
William Shatner to be killed off in a new Priceline Ad? Here's my Favorite  I actually liked the Priceline ads with William Shatner. They were the few ads I could actually watch and not be disgusted with them. Shatner turned the hammy Shatner up a notch for the ads. And, he was the face of Priceline. Now, there is talk of Shatner's character literally going off the deep end in a new ad for Monday. From People Magazine , (( After 14 years, "The Negotiator" will be no more.  William Shatner is leaving his role as pitchman for the online travel site Priceline.com, and he is not going softly into his good night. He's falling off a cliff. And dying.  )) Uh, didn't Captain Kirk die in a similar manner? 14 years is a long time for an ad Also, did you know Shatner is 80 years old. Holy crap. Priceline has already released the ad on their youtube page. I wonder who are they going to bring in to replace him? Captain Picard?

Enough with this spam

Image
To that Spammer that keeps posting in my comments section, knock it off.  In my Red Tails post some spammer continues to post Spam after I deleted the first comment.  Why would you keep posting the same spam?  I will delete it.  It just pisses me off.  

Megaupload shut down by the US government

Image
Megaupload shut down by the US government This will be my last post on SOPA and copyright laws for a while.   However, the US government has shutdown Megaupload.com without SOPA.   They already have the power to shutdown sites that already have copyright infringing content.   And, they arrested the owners of the site through New Zealand .   You don’t need to add more power to government because they can shutdown stuff in other countries.  I can go into the reasons why there are problems with this issue pre-SOPA, but I won’t.      However, people need to use this as way of proving you don’t need new laws to stop copyright infringement.   The messy part is the profits that Mega received that don’t make this a black and white issue.   It is a real shame the US government doesn’t move this swiftly against drug dealers or terrorists.