Posts

Showing posts from August, 2008

James Update

أ ب ت ث ج ح خ د ذ ر ز س ش ص ض ط ظ ع غ ف ق ك ل م ن ه و ي You read them right to left. I am slowly learning the Arabic alphabet and learning how to put words together. I know a few greetings and things like “thank you” and “door”. I am much better at writing words than saying them at the moment. There’s something neat about connecting letters. I’m getting better at it. I’m just a little slow. I have to keep in mind there are about five-six people from the Middle East and Northern Africa also taking the class and they can speak much better. However, I am a little worried about a homework assignment. At some point, I have to greet an Arabic speaking person and attempt to talk to them in Arabic. I’ll probably come across as a babbling fool and they’ll hand me money or call the cops. For your enjoyment, here’s a video I’ve seen and heard for about a hundred times.

The problem with Babylon A.D.

Image
It was at this point that Vin Diesel realized he left the iron and the coffeemaker on back at his house. ______________________________ Babylon A.D. isn’t exactly receiving positive praise…not even from its own director . Director Mathieu Kassovitz isn’t trying to put a positive spin on his movie. He’s letting his true feelings about the movie be known to the world. He hates the freaking film. Read below from the link above (("I'm very unhappy with the film," he says. "I never had a chance to do one scene the way it was written or the way I wanted it to be. The script wasn't respected. Bad producers, bad partners, it was a terrible experience.")) He places most of the blame on Fox. Even before his comments, bloggers have stated that the movie was in trouble. Fox wanted a shorter family-friendly movie. Fox and another studio have two completely different cuts of the film. It all depends on which country and studio releases it. ((I...

The Kardashian Union

Image
Kim Kardashian in a cheerleading outfit… Here is the only reason to waste your money on Disaster Movie. However, you can always see more of Kimberly Kardashian in another movie…with better acting. Think of it as a home movie with sex, and it co-stars Ray J. The only reason for her fame now is that damn sex tape, which was pointed out by one of the writers of the Agony Booth . Zeus may have blessed her with a nice ass, but he forgot talent and brains. I personally think Brooke Hogan and Kardashian should fight it out on a Pay Per View. By the way, Disaster Movie is sitting at 00% at Rotten Tomatoes. It might go up, because it wasn’t viewed for critics. Shocking

10 reasons John Locke is one of the most fascinating characters on TV

Image
Over the past few months, I’ve been watching the first two seasons of Lost on ABC.com. It’s been easier to see the bigger picture and the fact they are setting up things ahead of time. One character that continues to stand out from the rest is John Locke. A wonderfully flawed but interesting character masterfully played by Terry O’Quinn. O’Quinn would later win an Emmy Award for his role. At first, he merely comes across as “The Great White Hunter”, but he’s much more than that. He’s not exactly a good person, but not a villain either. You see a man that comes from pathetic beginnings, but truly find his calling on the island. If only we could all be that lucky. Here are 10 reasons John Locke is one of the most fascinating characters on TV right now. 10. Mr. Locke enjoys blowing shit up : Repeatedly, this guy has proven he’s like a child with firecrackers. He’s blown up The Swan , The Flame and the Others’ Submarine. Don’t let this guy get a hold of ...

11 Minutes of Postal...Head for the hills

Image
11 Minutes of Postal... Man, this is bad. I can't even stand 11 minutes of this mess. I dare you to sit through 11 minutes of this video. This is a piece of crap; Uwe Boll can’t even make a stupid comedy correctly. Making movies like Step Up 2 the Streets is bad, but this is just plain crap. I don’t even know to whom this movie is aiming for. None of the jokes are funny and the direction is just bad. I haven’t decided if I should rent this to review or not...so that way you don’t have to watch it. From IMDB.com (( Gary Coleman was offered the chance to reprise his role as one of the central characters from the original Postal 2 (2002) (VG) video game, but turned down the offer because he didn't want to swear)) When Gary Coleman turns down a role, you know this movie is a mess.

Random Things

Image
Someone was on the losing side of this battle, I'd take it was her. Random Things ~Check out this video of a derailed train with chemicals exploding . At first I thought it was a CSX train, but it ended up being a BNSF train . ~Let me get this straight, Jenna Jameson is pregnant with Tito Ortiz's baby. That child will be screwed up when he/she is made fun of at school. Perhaps, she will be a good mother. I don’t find her attractive, but I guess some will call her a MiLF. (Her prime was during her role in Private Parts) ~Want to be a jerk? Whenever you become the person that has to seek in the Hide and Seek game, after you count to ten, just leave. Don’t tell them and simply leave the game. Just go back in your house while they’re still hiding. They’ll be angry about it the next day. “Dude, we hid for thirty minutes.” ~At first, I was a little worried about the black eye Kelly Osbourne was wearing , but it just appears that the cupboard beat her...

The Fast and the Furious 4

Image
Check out the HD trailer to The Fast and the Furious 4 (4 Fast 4 Furious) http://www.filmjunk.com/2008/08/25/fast-and-furious-4-trailer/ I’m not the biggest fan of these movies, but they are fun to watch and the driving is very good. I just think the acting isn’t that well conceived. Hey, it’s popcorn fun. They released a trailer for the movie and I have to say that the scene at the beginning was fun to watch. Here’s a bit of random facts. ~Right now, it’s just being called Fast and Furious . ~The director of the third movie, Justin Lin , is also directing this one. ~ Jordana Brewster and Michelle Rodriguez are returning. Brewster hasn’t done much since the first film. Michael in the Hatch shot Rodriguez in the heart. ~This is a prequel to Tokyo Drift.

James Update

James Update Because I am learning a completely different language this semester. I thought it interesting to see funny How to Speak English videos. I came across this little video and laughed . I thought it was kind of funny. For me, I usually answer the phone with this, “Who is this motherf'er!? You best be not calling long distance.” English American : It is funny hearing the differences between the British and American English. Learning Arabic Basically, I'm learning Cairo-Arabic this year and I am just starting to learn the alphabet. It's going to take a while for me to get the hang of it. There are a couple of letters I can't pronounce, however writing them isn't much of a problem. Saying the Greetings are a bit of a problem, but I'm getting there.

No more kids

No Kids in Movie Theaters? I'd be down for that. ( the link he's sourcing to ) I don't have kids, and I don't want them. I always get angry when I'm in a restaurant and have to hear a screaming baby or crying child. Since I am not a parent, I shouldn't have to endure bad parenting with their children. At this point, I can’t sit beside a family with young kids. For some reason, in inappropriate movies, they seem to bring their little devil spawns out to ruin my movie experience. During my second viewing of the Dark Knight, I made certain I sat far away from the crowd of moviegoers. I had three empty seats beside me. Well, during the preview trailers a mother and her very young boy came up and sat in the seats near me. When the movie started, her little boy said, “Where’s the Joker? Where’s Batman?” He kept saying it over and over again. And, his mother did nothing and ignored him. I got pissed and went to bathroom and came back to the theater...

Box Office Jam

Image
When a guy pulls up in a car like this at the drive-thru, don't mess up his order. _______________________ Box Office Jam It was kind of a slow week for movies and will probably continue to be for the next few weeks. 1. Tropic Thunder $65.8M: The movie is never going to be a huge hit, because it’s too inside and only people that like movies will get all the jokes. But, it is still a hit. 2. The House Bunny $14.5M: This might have something to do with Anna Faris ’ charm to both the male and female groups. I like her and I think she’s a good actress. Plus, seeing her in a skimpy outfit isn’t bad either. 3. Death Race $12.6M: Jason Statham drives around in a fast car and kills people. Sounds like every other film he’s done. Think of this as Crank mixed with The Transporter and The Italian Job. 4. The Dark Knight $489M: Should reach the 500 mark in the states in a few weeks. 5. Star Wars: The Clone Wars $25M: I’m not going to see this...

Kirby

Image
The Gaming Historian takes on Kirby http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqvXBHZ_dIw While I was a Sega boy, I found the story behind Kirby to be interesting. I always thought Kirby came from Super Mario Brothers. I thought he was a pink/nice version of those Boo Diddley ghosts from the Mario Brothers. (Boo Diddley was a riff on the late musician Bo Diddley) Kirby also enjoys dancing with Snoop Dog

the complete version of Michael Jackson’s “Bad” video

Here it is, the complete version of Michael Jackson’s “Bad” video. MJ from the very beginning always had ‘event’ music videos. There would always be a story that led up to the musical portion. He would later make even bigger music/film videos in his career. So, this was a bit of foreshadowing to his bigger film Moonwalker . Most people haven’t seen or remember that “Bad” had a ‘film’ intro at the beginning, but here it is. MTV would only show the shorter Music Video version of “Bad” most of the time, while pulling out the longer version every so often. (Even the music portion in the extended version is longer.) So sit back and enjoy this longer version. (make sure to click on the second part) Part One ________________________________ Part Two http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b34OpbG7Res&feature=related ___________________________________________ This music video plays like a short film. It almost has a student film feel to it, with the black and ...

Random Things

Image
This picture would make a great Wheaties box cover. Random Things ~ Angel Matos is one bad Mofo : While kicking a Goofy-Looking referee in the face isn’t the best use of your taekwondo skills, but it sure makes a heck of a photo to post on the Internet. I'd hate to be the guy that got his face kicked in. You've just been owned, Chelbat. ~ Worst America and Canadian actors doing accents in Sci-fi : The Stargate Atlantis one is priceless. A real shame this show is getting canceled. The Charlie's Angels is pretty bad too. Oh, my, is the Jar-Jar accent bad! ~ Shaq receives a Restraining order from his ex-girlfriend . I'm guessing Shaq forced her to play Shaq-Fu or watch his movie Kazaam over and over again. ~Speaking of Shaq, how would he react if I brought him a copy of Shaq-fu for him to sign? Would he sign it? ___________________________________________ In the updated version of Shaq-fu, Kobe Bryant is a enemy.

Shannon Elizabeth

Image
Great, pre-ripped shirts with pre-sweaty stains: 200 bucks W hat the hell happened to Shannon Elizabeth? (From American Pie to Dancing) I'd be the first to say that I am really attracted to Shannon Elizabeth. Ever since she exposed herself in that pie-f’er’s room in the first American Pie movie, I’ve liked her. Sure her accent was terrible and her acting was stiff, but any woman willing to get naked playing the hot foreign exchange student is all right by me. Shannon Elizabeth could have easily created a career for herself, but something happened and now she does reality shows like Washed Up Poker Games and Dancing With the Has-Been Stars. So, she went from doing bad movies to crappy reality shows. That’s like wrapping shit in rotten soft taco shells. It doesn’t help. Tomcats proved that when she didn’t take her top off or bottom off, she couldn't carry a movie. But, that movie was bad all around. Thir13en Ghosts was just horrid, and again she was not the ...

Speed Racer gaming

Image
Speed Racer Videogame suffers from poorly received Movie I'm of the rule that most videogame movies suck and videogames based on movies suck even worst. However, it appears the extremely poor box office take and negative reviews from the Speed Racer movie has had an after effect (after birth?) on the videogame version. The producers felt they had a good game on their hands. Taken from the link above by Mr. Lee (("When we were first asked to do Speed Racer the property it was incredible, it was very exciting. It was a film by the Wachowski brothers and it was about car racing - awesome that's going to make a great game." )) I think there is always a risk in merchandising that your spin off products could take a hit if the movie is a bomb. Do you remember all that merchandise from the first Hulk movie? (("When you make a game based on a license you really are playing roulette - you don't know how the film is going play out in the market," he said...

Random Junk

Image
Jerry Seinfeld: “Whyyyyyyyyyyyyy is it called Microsoft? Doesn’t micro mean small, microscopic? Isn’t the software company a huge corporation? Shouldn’t we call it Macrosoft?” Yeah, he’s getting paid 10 million for that. _____________________________________________ Random Junk ~ Georgian News reporter that got shot : This is a tough woman. She gets shot, doesn't cry and continues to report the news. This is the type of woman I want. A woman that can take a few hits from sniper fire is alright in my book. If I ever get shot at, I know she has my back. Btw, shooting at a news reporter? What threat do they are cause you? ~Wait, John McCain doesn't know how many houses he owns? Are we getting forgetful in our old age, McCain. Damn it, I really used to like John McCain, but with the Paris Hilton thing and this I'm started to dislike the dude. ~ Jerry Seinfeld is getting paid 10 million dollars to promote Microsoft in some upcoming ads. Way to keep ...

What Happened to Wesley Snipes? By Rotten Tomatoes

Image
His next movie: How to stay out of jail! I took a stroll through one of the Blockbusters store and came W hat Happened to Wesley Snipes? By Rotten Tomatoes I took a stroll through one of the Blockbusters store and came across a display of Wesley Snipes newest movie The Art of War II: Betrayal . I heard they were making another one, but I didn’t know they were making it direct to video. Then I thought, “Did we need another Art of War?” I mentioned this before, but it seems like Wesley Snipes’ career is now in the direct to DVD realm. The link above shows the downward spiral of this guy. I wasn’t the only one to notice this too. This guy first started out doing Sports comedies like Wildcats and Major League. He even was the main bad guy from that Michael Jackson Bad video. He received critical acclaim for showing up in Spike Lee’s films too. He freaked and pissed me off when he became a drag queen in To Wong Foo, Thanks For Everything, Julie Newmar. What the heck was th...

Heidi Montag’s Overdosin (review) (The Hills have ears)

Image
Heidi Montag’s Overdosin (review) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpQWBnRfX-I&feature=related Holy Crap, this is a terrible song. I didn’t know who Heidi Montag was until the Agony Booth wrote a review on one of her songs. Being on "The Hills" (a show I’ve never seen or ever will) probably gave her some attention and someone thought they’d cash in on her fame, or lack of it. Some producer hooked her up to that auto-tuning software and crapped out another song. This song is appalling, really appalling. The music sounds like it came from a bad Sega Saturn racing game. And, it doesn’t fit with the singing that Montag belts out (blurts out). I could make something better with some shareware programs and a box of rocks. Montag proves that her voice is so phony and bland that it makes Britney Spears sound like Whitney Huston. It sounds so fake that even George Lucas would have a problem with the extensive computer work. I mean really, how can an...

Picard not like

Image
I was going through Digg and came across this picture/text below and I have to give props to the person that created it, because it is spot on. ............................................________ ....................................,.-‘”...................``~., .............................,.-”...................................“-., .........................,/...............................................”:, .....................,?......................................................, .................../...........................................................,} ................./......................................................,:`^`..} .............../...................................................,:”........./ ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../ ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../ .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/ ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.........

Great Police Academy Moments

Image
No matter what he does, GW Bailey will always be Capt. Thaddeus Harris to me. “Move it, move it!” Btw, he played the same type of character in Short Circuit and he played off of Steve Guttenberg again too. __________________________ Great Police Academy Moments I used to watch all those Police Academy movies all the time. I espically liked the first one, because it was R-rated. But strangely enough, they did get away with a few R-rated moments in the PG-13 ones. The movies progressively got worst and worst with each follow up, until they ended it with the straight to video Mission to Moscow. Here are a few funny moments Jones messes with some stuffy rich people : This one is priceless. I loved the loud munching on the burger and nose blowing. Yama Yama Scene : Crap movie, great scene from PA4 Citizens on Patrol: Please note the very young David Spade. “because I'm hungry, man.” Best Self-Defense move ever : Leslie Easterbrook was the sex symbol for all the...

Random Stuff

Random Stuff ~So, Rosie O’Donnell is going to slow down on the blogging a bit. At a certain point, it seemed she was doing nothing but blogging. I wonder how she feels about the opposition that Tropic Thunder is receiving about the mentally handicapped joke. Remember, she did that movie about bus and she played a handicapped person. I found her performance offensive, but not as bad as Another Stakeout . ~ So Laurence Fishburne is joining the CSI team: While I think this good news, I've never been into the show or its spin off shows. I like the Law & Order shows much better. I don't hate the CSI shows, but I don't understand the hype that surrounds them. After K-Fed’s appearance on one of the spin off shows, can we say this series has jumped the shark? ~About that 16-year-old that dropped out of school to be a Guitar Hero pro : Yeah, Blake Peebles' parents have let him drop out. If you're going to let him drop out of school, then how you about ...

Yet, even more fun with comments. (Bring it on)

Image
Yet, even more fun with comments. The saga involving that cheerleader story I did about a year and a half ago is still getting hits. I mean, I still see about 5-10 hits on that damn page. I get hits from all the way over in India. Yet, the post is a year old, I still get comments from people about her and her pictures. Here are a few amusing ones that have popped up over that year. This one comes from one of her so-called Roommates ((I don't know where you got your information about becca, but you are incorrect about so much of the story. I was her roommate and if you don't knwo what your talking about, you really should have a blog about it. This story doesn't need to be in the news, this story needs to go away. she is a wonderful girl and doesn;t deserve any of this!)) For a while people were wondering if the whole cheerleader story was real. Many thought it was merely a pornstar posing in those pictures. By leaving this comment, she pretty much confirmed...

Tropic Thunder Part 2 of 2

Image
As I stated before, Tom Cruise steals the movie with is Joel Silver impression. His makeup and body suit make him almost unrecognizable. Plus, he really knows how to dance to, which he didn’t know how to do earlier this year. At one point, Tom’s character goes into a rant/screaming threat with the ‘bad guys’, and I laughed my butt off in the theater. Tom almost makes me forgive him for all that Scientology shit he’s been pooping out lately. Watching him dance is worth the price of the ticket. Matthew McConaughey is another guy that surprised me with his role here. He puts aside his ‘dude’ character for a fast-talking agent. He really puts an interesting spin on an otherwise one-dimensional character. There are moments when you see him deciding to make a moral choice that are done completely in his expressions. I loved seeing him playing the Wii every time he’s in his office. Robert Downey Jr. simply brings his best game as the Russell Crow who turns himself ...

I'll take “Balls” for 200, Alex.

Image
I'll take “Balls” for 200, Alex. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuYc9GvR-T0 I was listening to FilmJunk and they mentioned the Balls category and I had to laugh. How does one go from “Back History Month” to Ball? Come on, the writers couldn't have called it something else besides Balls? I'm surprised someone didn't bust out laughing. (I need to use another word other than bust.) Did they all have to be girls too to make it even more creepy? Side Note: Jeopardy Poop and crazy answer . ( source )

Five reasons to hate Abercrombie & Fitch

Image
Five reasons to hate Abercrombie & Fitch ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abercrombie_&_Fitch ) On some days, I decide to walk to the mall. In that mall, there is an Abercrombie & Fitch store; actually there are two stores there. One store is simply called Abercrombie. Every time I walk pass the store I get a nose full of cologne and an ear full of techno music. When I peek inside, I get confused, probably due to the mist of the cologne. And I ask; What kind of people would pay or even visit such a store? Is it a store for metro-sexual men? Is it a store for douche bags that think their hip with their expensive shirts and cargo shorts? Like Starbucks, I have a problem with the way this company markets itself, and I find the logic of their marketing and pricing flawed. Here are a few things I have a problem with inside and outside their stores. 5. Price Tag is too high: For me, I won’t purchase a pair of pants over 15 bucks, and t-shirts under $7....