Posts

Showing posts from September, 2015

Project Greenlight More Thoughts

Image
Holy crap this season is turning to be better than the second season. Tensions seems to be higher this season than the second season. However, Chris Moore is missed. I haven't seen his new show The Chair yet. I am actually looking forward to this movie on HBO. ~ Matt Damon: As I predicted, Damon apologized for his view on “diversity” . And it is really bothering me with this term “whitesplaining”. Can't a white person have a different view from a black person and not look like an racist? This PC crap is going too far. Don't shut someone down because they're not a part of the group.  ~Pete Jones: It is good to see him again. He looks healthy and really mellowed out. He wrote the original script Not Another Pretty Woman, but he was willing to give it up for the PG director's script. Jones has worked in the Hollywood system for a while now and he could bring out the mini-Tim Burton. I think the PG Director needs to get his head out of hi...

Fun with Google Searches...

Image
Fun with Google Searches... After deleted some medical comment spam from my blog, I came across a Google search for a certain movie I truly hate a lot...Battlefield Earth. But it is not a normal search. The search was about one of the dumbest and funniest scenes in the movie. The cow leg shooting scene...here's the actual Google Search ((battlefield earth why cows legs shot?)) Yes, this scene right here. Try not to laugh. I wish I could explain the scene away in some sort of Xenu way, but I can't. I am not even sure it's in the damn book. I wish I could answer the searcher's question. Maybe, LRH hated cows... It's like I will forever be connected to Scientology and Battlefield Earth. And, yes I explained the concept of the Space Church (TM) to my boss at work. He didn't believe me until he looked it up. Once you try explaining Xenu to someone, they look at you crazy.

Lunar Eclipse?

Image
Lunar Eclipse I got in around 4 AM and noticed the sky was extremely bright for a 4AM night. I looked up and the Moon was extremely bright. Like white hot bright. I only looked at it in passing because I feared the light bouncing off the sun wouldn't be good for my already bad eyes. From what I can read, I didn't catch the Lunar Eclipse, but the aftermath . The Moon was very bright and you could see a lot of detail on the surface. I grabbed my camera and took some pictures. But they came out rather badly because the Moon was so bright. Did I catch it during the eclipse? By the way, the dates on the photos are wrong it happened today.    Yes, it was that bright outside.  can you believe it?  

Jay Leno vs Kimmel

Image
Jay Leno isn't a fan of mean-based humor it seems I was listening to him on Joe Rogan's Podcast , hoping I'd like the guy, but he came across as being slimy more than anything else/ I've never liked Leno's humor and thought he was a part of that older “be nice” brand of hosting. While I don't watch too much of the late talk shows, I think the new batch of comedians in the hosting chairs are doing some really good things. Leno is a dinosaur. His humor isn't my brand of humor and too much like Carson's humor. I like a bit of edge to humor. I think TV is better off without a Leno around. So, it ticked me off when I read about this thing between Leno and Kimmel. From Yahoo via TV Insider , (( "The most [important] element you can have in doing a late night show is kindness," he explained to TV Insider, "because the show makes you arrogant. I think that’s Jimmy Kimmel’s problem." )) So says the guy that “retired”...

Kid N Play Cartoon

Image
 Kid N Play Cartoon Yet another shitty cartoon based on real rap performers. Here's the thing, Kid N Play was popular among the hip-hop fans and MTV folks, but they really blew up with the House Party movie (franchise). That franchise was about two guys trying to get laid at a party with an R rating. So, what better way to connect with that audience then to make a morning cartoon show, right? I'll admit it; I liked Kid N Play and I loved the first two House Party movies. Actually, they're still funny. Heck, I like their music. But, I hated the show. Plus, they had to add that “magical” element to the show with them locking their shoes together. (Class Act is bad though) I also like this bit from the Wiki page , (( The real Kid 'n Play appeared in live-action wraparounds of the cartoons, but voice actors took over for the animated versions of the duo. )) However, I MDB has Martin Lawrence listed in the credits of the show, so I guess he wa...

You Stink, bro

Image
You Stink   At work, there is a young man that works in my area that really stinks to high heaven. I call him Malcolm X because he's dark skinned and wears horn-rimmed glasses. For some reason, he refuses to wear deodorant. When it gets hots, he stinks like burnt chicken noodle soup and overcooked ass. I am not sure why no one has talked to him about his smelly aroma.  I got a whiff of his smell yesterday and it made me angry. When someone smells this bad, someone needs to tell them they stink. It comes across as offensive at this point. I really can't understand how someone can go around stinking and not give a shit about... "Yo, Malcolm, you really stink."  

Hammerman

Image
Hammerman Yes, everything received a cartoon version of a live action product. Rambo and Chuck Norris had shitty cartoon versions of their franchises. Heck, even Bill and Ted and Kid N Play had cartoon shows. You also had to add some kind of magical element to the show such as Punky Brewster. Hammer (MC Hammer formerly) was huge at this point, so some dumb ass came to him with a cartoon proposal. Everyone needed a cartoon show back in the day...everyone. And, DIC Entertainment studio crapp-ily put this cartoon together. I had completely forgotten about the really bad animation. There seems to be frames taken out of the animation, because movements are really jerky. DIC is one of the worst studios ever, but this cartoon is even worst for their standards. While Hammer does show up in the live action bits, he also does the main voice of Hammerman. I do believe this cartoon created the fast downfall of Hammer.

Leonard Part 6 Revisited (uh Part 2 of 2)

Image
Leonard Part 6 Revisited (uh Part 2 of 2) People often overlook this movie when talking about shit movies, but I think the lacy of this movie has come back since its DVD release . ~“I didn't lay finger on her.” Lenard says this to his butler buddy. This off line now has more meaning now than years ago given all the rape allegations. In the movie, he cheats on his wife with a younger woman. He tells his butler that he didn't touch the younger lady. And, now we know that Bill raped and cheated on his wife countless times. ~Murder by Frogs: Yes, a group of frogs crawl under a car that has a CIA agent. They then proceed to jump in unison, thus lifting the car off the ground. They hop the car right into a body of water and drown the agent. I am not sure why he doesn't swim out. And, I don't have to explain the foolishness of a bunch of frogs being able to life a car into the air either. This might be the stupidest thing in the movie. Who wrote this s...

Amy's Baking Company Closed, sweet (pun intended)

Image
Amy's Baking Company Closed, sweet (pun intended) I was watching the Mundane Matt video and he mentioned that Amy's restaurant finally closed . I love that even the yelling guy Gordon Ramsay . At a certain point, Ramsay had enough and walked off. I've never seen Gordon give up on a restaurant like Amy's Baking Company. The woman was nuts and the hubby was “of question connections” if you know what I mean. From Fox 10 (( A Scottsdale restaurant that gained reality TV notoriety after an appearance on "Kitchen Nightmares" will soon close its doors. Co-owner Amy Bouzaglo says she and husband Samy Bouzaglo are in final negotiations to sell the property. )) I have a brother that lives in the Phoenix area, I should have had him visit the location before they closed their doors. I can't believe the place lasted this long. I guess people showing up to taste the worst food ever had some limited appeal. I took a shitty part time job a few y...

Random Stuff

Image
Random Stuff ~ Wait, there is a Taken TV series: First off, did we need three Taken movies? The second one was pretty lame and I didn't bother watching the third one. And, now we're going to see a prequel series being commissioned for NBC, the same network that is bringing back Heroes. I just can't see how this Taken series is going to work. And, will it be a part of the movie universe? The post I listed also mentions the Transporter series, which isn't a bad TV show. However, how does that series fit into the reboot movie? ~Getting over a cold: I could barely walk a few days ago and I was really sick. I can't even remember what I said or did that day. I do know that some sleep meds and a mixture of allergy pills helped me get through it. I now need to get my energy up, because I am tired all the time. ~ Jesse Jackson Jr. out of jail . I remember reading about Jesse Jackson's son being arrested and put in prison for misusing campai...

Leonard Part 6 Revisited (uh Part 1 of 2)

Image
Leonard Part 6 Revisited (uh Part 1 of 2) Yes, Bill Cosby has been in the news recently, and we've learned that he is a really terrible guy. So, what better way to take apart the man than to take apart one of his worst movies? I wrote a review for this notoriously bad movie. I recently re-watched this piece of junk a few days ago. It is actually On Demand on one of the pay channels. The last time I wrote about this movie, it was nearly ten years ago on this very blog. After watching this piece of crap again, I feel need to pick on it some more. Leonard Part 6 is that fat kid that gets picked on in middle school and you feel sorry for him. You befriend him because he doesn't have friends, and then you realize he's a total spoiled asshole. No matter how much you hate Sandler's latest movies, Leonard Part 6 is way worst than those movies. Before The Room, there was this steaming pile of poop. It has only recently become famous for its sheer ...

Women steals from car as own watches and films

Image
Women steals from car as own watches and films Best line ever “Bitch, stealing all my parts out of my car...” I like that he calls them “parts”. Given that she doesn't even know the owner is filming her, I'm guessing she is either high or drunk. “You just raided my shit.” Okay, this one was pretty good too.  There are some many great lines. The smartest thing he did was to film the whole encounter, because she can't blame him with assault and deflect the crime. Sadly, you have to do this now. I'm surprised how calm he is, because I would have completely lost it. By the way, a lot of people will just go around a parking lot checking doors for unlocked cars and then grab anything they can to make a quick buck. I saw this happen a few years ago. I think that's what she was doing.

Project Greenlight (diversity)

Image
Project Greenlight (diversity) Let the battle lines form, and I can already see the writing of stories bashing both Matt Damon and Effie Brown. There was a very heated moment between producer Effie Brown and Matt that has been summed up for the past four years on the internet. It is diversity. From AV Club, ((hat latter point is stressed by line producer Effie Brown, a black woman who pushes for the team of Leo and Kristen, the only participants to express concern over the portrayal of a prostitute named Harmony in Not Another Pretty Woman. Things get a bit heated between Brown and Damon, )) I love the fact, while I partly disagree with her, that she stood up for her point of view. However, I respect Matt Damon even more for not backing down. Damon is very much a left-leaning kind of guy and it is good to see someone from the left stand up for their beliefs even when the “D” word is being spoken. Yes, we should be respectful of the portrayal of any minori...

Orange is the new Yellow

Image
Orange is the new Yellow It is funny how I remember certain things from my childhood, but totally forget everything else. I can't even remember people's names after they're introduced to me. Orange Duck: Because I was such a strange and detached child, I remember coloring a coloring book and using the color of orange as its primary color. I remember a girl looking at my “wonderful”coloring with such confusion. She said, “I don't think I've ever seen a orange duck. Most ducks are yellow or white.” My heart was broken. Damn it, I picked the wrong color. However, this was probably the beginning of me picking choices that didn't conform to the mainstream. Looking back today, I can see that I've been making these “orange” choices all my life. When I see the group go one way, I feel almost compelled to go my own way. Keep in mind that being the non-conformist/outsider is not easy. You're probably going to spend a lot of time ...

That Coexist Bumper sticker...

Image
That Coexist Bumper sticker... I hate bumper stickers especially the political ones. By reading your shitty beliefs on your car , am I supposed to instantly change my world view? Because of this tiny stick I am now changed forever. Thank you, bumper sticker guy or girl. I've never understood the concept of political bumper stickers. Yes, I know I have the right not to look at it, but when you're sitting at a light, your shitty views just pop right out at me. There really is no other way people express themselves in such a blatant political manner other than bumper stickers. We don't put Ass Stickers up asking to end abortion or gun control. While I pass you, take a look at this. Other than the anti-abortion stickers (If you're reading this, your mother was pro-life), the ones that really bother me are the Coexist bumper stickers. It is so naive and simple minded. All these religious groups hate each other and have been killing for years. And, ...

More Thoughts on Fantastic Four

Image
Comic Book Girl 19 pretty much sums up most of the interesting stories behind the making of Fantastic Four. With all the problems with the movie, I'm surprised that FOX even bothered to give it a wide release and marketing push. We got to see a big budget movie fail in real time and pretty much every BTS rumors are true. I also think FOX tried their best to keep pushing the “controversy” of having a black Human Torch long after people started focusing in on the main problems behind the scenes. It likes “Hey, look over there, don't look at this stuff. Weren't you all mad about a Black Character.”  For me, it is not about message of having a white character change to black, just make a good movie first.  Work on the script and find a director that can work on a big budget.  It's about the story first and the message comes third or fourth.  FOX sort of forgot about this. Back in 2014, Marvel canceled their FF book, thus removing free promotion for FO...

Little Nicky

Image
Little Nicky Holy Crap, this movie is really-really bad. I hated the movie when it came out but damn this movie hasn't aged well. When he made this movie, he was at the height of his career. Little Nicky proved that Adam Sandler wasn't prefect, and his winning streak was coming to an end. With an inflated budget of 85 million, it only made 58 million domestically. Even Sandler's hardcore fans didn't come out to see it or praise it. It has a score of 22% on Rotten Tomatoes with an audience score of 56%. Little Nicky was the downward spiral to what happened with Pixels. He's now just making the movies for his friends' vacations and ads for products. I think the failure of Nicky just made him bitter, and he started to not care about his movies. When you watch the Wedding Singer, you can see him at the top of his game.This felt more by the numbers than something new or fresh. Plus, you can see all the clichéd things that make up...