Posts

Showing posts from June, 2011

What happens during a Midnight screening of Mr. Popper's Penguins?

What happens during a Midnight screening of Mr. Popper's Penguins? I've heard of couples messing around in the theater, but this story goes beyond that. And, to have it happen in Mr. Popper's Penguins? Jim Carrey doesn't seem like the type of guy to get the blood flowing. Then, again it is cheaper than buying a room in a motel. Still, would you want to be the guys cleaning up after the movie?

MySpace Sold...with a coupon.

Image
MySpace, I feel bad for you... Multisource political news, world news, and entertainment news analysis by Newsy.com MySpace is like those old westerns where they show the old ghost town with the tumbleweed blowing in the wind. I remember when everyone used MySpace. I hated the autoplay music boxes and the glitter that would lock up your browser. I think the site game to much freedom to people to make up their own pages. Near its peak, Rupert Murdoch and his FOX Company bought MySpace for 580 million dollars.  That was when the huge slide began and the site wasn’t the “it” thing anymore.  When your grandfather (Murdoch) takes interest, it no longer is cool anymore.  So, I was surprised to see that FOX finally got rid of their losing horse.  They sold it for 35 Million dollars.  Yes, you heard that right. 2005=$580 2011=$35 That’s a huge drop.  It was like FOX (News Corp) didn’t even bother to keep it afloat and just let the site degrade.  ...

VR Troopers: Rap Doggy Rap

Image
VR Troopers: Rap Doggy Rap Yes, this was actually in an episode of VR Troopers. I have no idea why this popped into my head today, but I looked on YouTube to find it. To my surprise, it was there! Why is the dog rapping anyway? Side note: Here is an interview with Jason David Frank (Green Ranger) The man is huge, not in a fat way.   

Mission Impossible 4: Ghost Protocol trailer

Image
Mission Impossible 4: Ghost Protocol Okay, this new MI movie looks pretty good. I'm in. Brad Bird is directing and JJ Abrams wrote the story with a producer credit as well. So, it will be more like the third movie than the second one. Heck, they're even bringing back Simon Pegg from the third movie. My only problem with the movie is this: Where are the characters from the last movie or from the other movies? Where is the lovely Maggie Q ? Where is Ving Rhames ? He's the only other character besides Cruise to be in last three movies. What about Laurence Fishburne ? Did his character join CSI? Or is his character dealing with a a troubled daughter that chose a poor career path? So, is Ethan Hunt still married in this one? Josh Holloway is signed on for this movie. Michael Giacchino is doing the musical score. I thought he did a great job with the third movie's score. I just hope he doesn't add that piano riff from Lost again. Hat tip to F...

CM Punk diss on WWE

Image
CM Punk diss on WWE This rant against WWE is brilliant. It pretty sums up the problems with WWE currently. CM Punk disses Hulk Hogan and The Rock in the same rant. This is also shades of the Brett Hart screw job that happened years ago. Insiders say Vince approved everything he said during the rant above. “He's a millionaire who should be a billionaire.” “And, the rest of his stupid family.” I also like that he's wearing a Stone Cold shirt. I read that Stone Cold and he had a twitter battle (sigh). I am not a big fan of Vince, but he knows how to promote his events. This thing seems to be a throwback to the good old (olde?) days of the Attitude Era. I'm sure CM Punk actually feels this way on the state of WWE, and Vince just let him go out there and diss the entire company. The kicker is WWE took the staged drama a step further by staging a suspension and removing his name from their web site profile page. Now, there's even more. From Cageside Seats, ...

The Punisher vs. Eminem...comic

Image
The Punisher vs. Eminem Everyone remembers The Punisher crossover with Archie, but a more recent comic crossover involved the Punisher crossing paths with the Rapper Eminem.  I posted about this comic years ago.  But it came up again on Linkara’s review.  It just seems odd to have a crossover with Eminem.  The worst part about the story is that the Punisher mows down Eminem’s crew and then Slim Shady teams up with him afterwards.  Then, there is the twist that the Parents Council was involved in the contract hit on Eminem.  Really? Why not send the Punisher after Ja-Rule?  I’m sure some people actually liked the crossover.  Marvel wanted to open up their universe to new readers, but this seems a little strange.  

Nerd vs Creepy Nerd

Image
Nerd vs Creepy Nerd In the library café, there is a black nerd with in a scarf (in the summer?) and horn-rimmed glasses in a heated argument with a redheaded nerd.  They are taking about politics, and it is rather amusing hearing the black nerd calling him a fringe character.  In addition, the Black Nerd ™ is saying some rather racist things about Arabs.   Did I mention that the black nerd has a squeaky voice?   The redhead is rather amused by the guy’s stances.  “I can put you in a box.” “You can’t put me in a box.” “You seem to be shameful of your political views.” “You’re a radical.” “On what planet do you send most of your?” Black Nerd asked. “Earth,” the Redhead countered.  Sadly, the Black Nerd will probably never see a woman naked or let alone get to first base because he is so out there.  This guy is literally Steve Urkel in college.  At one point in my life, I would have easily become this guy.  But, I kept my nerd powers in...

Peter Falk RIP (Columbo)

Image
Peter Falk RIP ( Columbo) Just one more thing… TV legend Peter Falk passed away on June 23. Like watching the Matlock series, I would spend hours watching reruns of Columbo with my mother on TV. I always enjoyed Falk’s portrayal of the disheveled Detective Columbo. (Note: Falk was so much like Columbo that the clothes were his own.) I admired the way Columbo used his brains over force to figure out stuff. While he played himself as a simple blue collar guy, Columbo was actually very similar to Sherlock in the way he figures out cases. He used the shambling and confused act as a ruse. Falk was a character actor throughout his career. He did a lot of strange roles in his lifetime, such as Corky Remano and Made with Jon Favreau . Anyway, he will be missed. RIP Columbo.

Transformers The Movie Trailer (Not the Michael Bay movie)

Image
Transformers The Movie Trailer (Not the Michael Bay movie) Oh, man does this bring back fond memories of my childhood.  I remember seeing this trailer being blown away with the futuristic look, the rock music and the kickass animation.  This is how you make a trailer.  Now, that I am older, I can also see that the trailer also played as a preview for the upcoming toy line for the movie.  (I remember getting Hot Rod as a toy) Notes -I remember seeing the DEG logo and saying, “I don’t remember these guys making the TV show”. - Victor Caroli is the narrator for the trailer and the actual movie too.  He blew me away with the lines (It is the year 2005. The treacherous Decepticons have conquered the Autobot's home planet of Cybertron. But, from secret staging grounds on two of Cybertron's moons the valiant Autobots plan to take back their homeland.)   The cartoon continuity jumped ahead 20 years.  Plus, we came to find out the Autobots lost their homelan...

Final Fantasy VII rap music? Actually, it is very good. (Black Materia: Final Fantasy VII)

Image
Final Fantasy VII rap music?  Actually, it is very good.  Black Materia seems to be a collection of rappers that enjoy videogames.  And, they focused this album on FFVII.  I am surprised how much this actually works.  Listening to the groups other songs, I have to say I like their flow .  From Random and Lost Perception site , ((In a stunning move, hip hopper and educator Random, aka Mega Ran and Lost Perception present BLACK MATERIA: Final Fantasy VII, a Hip-Hop album using tunes from Square’s hit game.)) Review of the album Mako Reactor If you listen to lyrics, they pretty much rap the first half of the game.  What is surprising is that the writing of the lyrics are very good and I like the remix of the Mako song. More after the break…

Hostage Taker Updates his Facebook Page During Standoff with Police.

Image
Hostage Taker Updates his Facebook Page During Standoff with Police . Yes, you heard that correctly. The police came to his hotel room with a plan of arresting him on a warrant. There was a woman in the room and he took her hostage, so there was a standoff. Valdez has a pretty extensive criminal record , so it is no surprise that he would react the way he did. The kicker of the story is that he started to update his Facebook during his standoff with police. From CNN, (( Jason Valdez, 36,  issued six status updates,  added 15 friends and responded to numerous comments posted by worried family and friends while police were engaged in a siege at an Ogden motel Saturday morning. Police say the person in the standoff and the person making those updates was Valdez. )) Well, at least he wasn't using Twitter. Having a hostage taker send out Tweets seems strange. But, he didn't stop there. He actually took pictures with his “hostage” and uploaded them to FB.  Way t...

7-11 Hit and Run

Image
7-11 Hit and Run Basically, this guy was working at 7-11 changing the trash bag when some drunken nut-job comes charging through the parking lot and hits him.   I’d want extra pay for that.   And, the worst part of the story is that a passenger simply walks out of the car and ignores the accident.   The woman that walked away works in the medical field!   Tyhese Pitts, the woman seen not giving an F', works in a hospital. Her Facebook page says that she studied at CHI Institute. She claims she was in shock when it happened. However, shocked people don't causally walk away and ignore the accident. The police caught up with her and she is not going to be charged, because she gave them the name of the driver that hit the employee. Willaisha Rankins is the woman that crashed into the employee. Just as I am writing this, Delcontimes.com is reporting that she turned herself into police to day. 

Donna Summer’s Demo version of Bad Girls (Toot-Toot-Hey-Beep-Beep)

Image
Donna Summer’s Demo version of Bad Girls (Toot-Toot-Hey-Beep-Beep) Wow, this version of the song is completely different from the one released.   In the YouTube notes, they say that the producers were going to give this song to Cher.   Cher would have never brought the soul that Summer had with the song.   The song is much slower than the released version.   I personally think they should have released both versions at the same time.   Here’s the version that people remember and compare the differences They don’t make music like this anymore.  

Forget Me Nots (Patrice Rushen)

Image
Forget Me Nots (Patrice Rushen) Do you remember this song?   It was a hit R&B song from 1982.   I fondly remember listening to this song on the radio, as my mother would drive us around.   The song has a sweet bass line and some nice vocals from Patrice Rushen.   I always loved the claps in the track too.   Younger people might remember the track being used in the Will Smith song MIB.   The actual track is very close to the original, except they slowed the track down a bit.   I remember Patrice saying that the MIB people asked her if they could just use a “sample” of her track for the Will Smith song.   They gave her a small amount of coin.   She realized they pretty much used her whole song, so she asked for more money.   They were basically low-balling her. George Michael also used portions of the song for his Fastlove song.   

Vent Harassment: It is time for a nerd exorcism

Image
Vent Harassment:   It is time for a nerd exorcism I love this one because some of them laugh it, while others are downright pissed.   Baal! Here’s a bonus video too.

Comedian makes fun of haters on stage

Image
Comedian makes fun of haters on stage This is both brilliant and mean at the same time.   I love the hater reaction when the comedian starts announcing background info about him.   This guy is truly embarrassed, just watch at the end.  

Weird Al’s Perform this Way

Image
 Weird Al’s Perform this Way Okay, I am officially freaked out by this music video.   By having Weird Al’s face CGI onto a woman’s body, this video has guarantee that I will have numerous nightmares. The music video is brilliant, and the lyrics are just great.   It is a total and complete bash against the way Gaga uses the media to stir up controversy.   Al gleefully (pun intended) sings about the various goofy things Gaga has done over the years.   This is Al going back to his roots from the 80s with “Eat it”/”Fat” and others from that era.    I’m even surprised how far he goes with the bashing/parody. Oh, yes Weird Al even goes for the Madonna criticisms that Gaga has been accused of lately.   He even dresses in the Madonna outfit and has a Madonna (near-look-a-like) show up.   And, I know why Gaga didn’t want this song released.   There is a point when a singer says, “Express Yourself” in the song.   (1:50 mark) And, I still be...

Ken Jeong teaches us how to save a life...for real, yo

Image
Probably the best PSA I’ve seen Yes, Ken Jeong kicks major ass.   I love watching him on Community . The video is very informative.   And, the kicker is that Ken Joeng is a real doctor.   Oh, it’s true, it’s true.  

Random Things

Image
Random Things ~ Ryan O'Neal a little puffy and strange : Uh, what's wrong with this guy in this interview? Did he read a letter on a beach where he says “Man, oh, God, oh, Man, oh God”? By the way, I've watch a good chunk of the Larry Sanders Show, and he's shown up a few times on there too. ~ Keystone Beer guy : The character's name is Keith Stone. That's very clever. Sadly, I know people dressed and act the same way this Keith Stone does. Keystone is really pushing this character lately online. Keystone beer is seems to be the beer of rednecks. ~ Megan Fox got fired by Spielberg : I really hate the way Fox handled the situation after the release of TF-2. She called Bay Hitler and Spielberg had enough. Spielberg had enough and fired her ass . And, she deserved it. I think Bay is the biggest asshole, but she did get her break from Bay because he hired her for Bad Boys 2. So, she kind of back-stabbed him. She and her crew released a stateme...

Robostir: nice

Image
Wow, I didn’t about these new Infomercial ads Robostir:   Do we really need an automatic stirring machine?   I guess we really are moving toward the future from Back to the Future 2.   Turbo Slicer:   This is clearly an item to compete against the Slap Chop.   The guy in the video hates Vince.   Vance actually throws away a Quick Chop in his Slap Chop ad.    What's next, a product that can wipe my ass for me?  Wait, they already have that.   The machines will rise.  

Any Winehouse too drunk to perform at her own concert

Image
Any Winehouse too drunk to perform at her own concert Man, I feel bad for anyone that paid to go see her live in Belgrade. It is hard to even watch the damn video because she can't even clap her hands without nearly falling over. I would have certainly demanded my money back. And, I'm embarrassed for her. This concert was supposed to be the beginning of her European tour. It was the same tour she left rehab for remember? She didn't want to be bothered with her treatment and rushed into this tour instead. And, this is what her fans get. People started to boo her as she attempted to perform her songs. This is not the best way to kick off your tour. From MSN , (( The Blic daily said the concert was "the worst in the history of Belgrade." )) Do you think she put that newspaper clipping on her refrigerator? While she isn't really skinny like she was years ago, she looks like she's aged ten years. I think it was foolish for her to sing a anti-rehab song, becau...

Random Thoughts

Image
Random Thoughts ~ The whole 2Pac/Biggie feud comes to forefront again with new conspiracy theories : An inmate is now making claims that a hip-hop mogul hired him to rob 2Pac during that robbery at a music studio. This robbery left 2Pac severely injured and helped spark the East/West coast feud. He also claims Puffy had something do with the incidents involving Biggie and 2Pac's deaths. I hope this doesn't spark more violence between different groups again. ~ Hugh Hefner and Crystal Harris : Why does this all seem very fake to me? It looks and sounds like a punch of PR people came up with this story in order to bring attention to Playboy and the Hefner brand. Does Hefner really use Twitter ? Much of the drama is being talked about during his twitter posts, but I just can't buy a 85-year-old tweeting. Maybe I am wrong. Then, there is the story of the Playboy magazine placing a “runaway bride” sticker on Crystal Harris cover. And, why is Hefner trying to get m...

Cereal Killer: Best internet action video in a while

Image
Cereal Killer:  Best internet action video in a while -The direction is pretty good. -Despite her blue anime hair, the store clerk is rather cute.  -Coco Puffs or Coco Krispies?  Neither one is actually that good.   It is too much chocolate for my taste.  I do like that the main character is torn between the two.  Here’s the making of video

Vancouver Riots: Man, gets knocked out

Image
Vancouver Riots:  Man, gets knocked out value="http://www.liveleak.com/e/961_1308314880"> Here’s the thing, the guy getting knocked out was one of the guys in the other video attempting to smash the overturned car.  Yeah, he was one of those hipsters in the video threatening to beat up the “this is our city” guy.  It looks like hipster guy came back for more and got knocked out.  (However, “this is our city” guy isn’t really the hero either) By the way, the guy that knocked out the hipster dude never took his other hand off his phone.  The reason I used Liveleak is because people seem to be taking down all the Vancouver videos.  I’m not sure why, because YouTube has far worst videos on its site.  Here’s a different angle. Okay, this is the hipster dude earlier causing trouble.  Hipster dude seems to be the one really causing trouble with his friends.  Sadly, this type of riot stuff happens all around the world whenever a sporting event ha...

X-Men: First Class

Image
X-Men: First Class This prequel to the first three X-Men is nice character piece and has some great action set pieces.   While the prequel aspects of the story don’t fully set into everything we’ve seen in the earlier X-Men movies, it does lay the ground for the future conflicts between  Xavier and Magneto .   Thrown into their interesting relationship is the shape shifter Mystique .   The movie is set mostly during the days leading up to the Cuban Missile Crisis.   Sebastian Shaw, Kevin Bacon, is a mutant that is secretly setting up both the US and the USSR for a nuclear showdown.   With the US government’s help, a young Xavier and Magneto find a team of mutants to stop Shaw.   First Class is a step toward the first two Bryan Singer films more than the third movie in tone and style.   This probably also had to do with Matthew Vaughn being a fan of those films, plus Singer was a producer of this film.   Vaughn really does capture the civi...