Posts

Showing posts from November, 2015

Rick and Morty : Inter-Universe Tv shows: Real Fake Doors

Image
Rick and Morty : Inter-Universe Tv shows I needed a really good laugh and I finally saw the episode where Rick and Morty watch really goofy shows from different universes. I've never laughed as hard as I have in this episode because it is totally silly. The Fake Doors commercial “Oh my God, it's still the commercial.” I freaking love this ad. It starts out with one silly thing, the fake doors, and goes off the rails with the camera continuing to film him going home. I freaking love Rick and Morty's reactions to this ad. And, the ad starts again after he makes a sandwich. Side Note: The episode also addresses the fact Rick and Morty are NOT the same versions from this universe. When they totally screwed up their home Earth so badly they couldn't fix it, they jumped to this universe after this universe's Rick and Morty died in an accident. They buried their counterparts in the backyard and took over as if nothing happened. So, all the othe...

The Death of "Superman Lives": What Happened? (Part 2 of 2)

Image
-John Peters the producer: This guy is everything wrong with Hollywood then and today. The doc does explain why he's attached to every Superman movie and WB has to have him linked to it. Peters is one of the goofiest people you will ever see. He kind of takes some jabs at Kevin Smith and talks about the tension between him and Burton. The doc also goes into Peters bringing his kids in to make judgments on drawings. He would also grab tech guys and put them in wrestling moves and headlocks.   He not only wanted Spiders in the movie, but polar bears. The doc director even notes that there two different versions of Smith's script one with live polar bears and another later version with just statues of polar bears. Peters even takes a phone call during the interview and it is one of the funnest things you will ever see. You can see the doc director sitting there chilling. I almost think Peters had someone call him just to make him look powerful. Peters name was ...
Image
What are my thoughts on the Captain America Civil War trailer? I loved it. I re-watched Captain America 2 a few times recently and have honestly enjoyed it even more. I love the action the movie and it feels like a modern spy-action movie. This trailer feels like the same thing, but on a bigger scale. -Bucky seems to be spark that rips Stark and Cap apart. Could we see the Winter Soldier become Captain America 2.0? Perhaps. -Stark does have a point about Limitations. However, like the comic book story, things will get out of hand for his side of the conflict. -No Spider-man appearance: Something tells me they're keeping this one under wraps until we get closer to the release date. -War Machine hurt: We see IM hold a wounded War Machine. Damn. -Watch the shield: There is a cool moment where Bucky throws the shield back to Cap in mid-punch and Cap catches it without missing a beat. That was cool. -It looks like Agents of Shield's inhuman th...

Adam Sandler is actually funny...

Image
Adam Sandler is actually funny... I actually laughed at something he said. This update to his Chanukah song is funny. I love the jab at Jared the Subway Guy. He needs to do more stand-up and less sport-laced unfunny movies based on the 80s era. Could this version of his song be the funniest thing he's in a long time?

The Death of "Superman Lives": What Happened? (Part 1 of 2)

Image
The Death of "Superman Lives": What Happened? (Part 1 of 2) Well, I finally watched this crowd-funded documentary and it was worth it. It has some amazing footage never ever seen before. The doc actually gives you a clear reason (reasons) into why the Superman Lives movie fell apart. Spoiler Alert, WB has a ton of losing box office returns due to poor movies and Superman Lives was costing way too much to make. (Upwards of 300 projected) So, WB pulled the plug. It was often reported that Burton lost interest in the project and left, but that was not the case. Burton was truly into the project and seemed to be into it with a full creative drive. And, somehow he was willing to work with John Peters again despite the fact they hated each other during Batman 89. Burton seemed to be drawn to Clark Kent/Superman being an outsider than anything else. I also think he latched on to the Lex Luthor/Brainiac thing. The movie was going on full steam ahead when WB ran in...

Jared, 15 year foot longs

Image
Looking a little puffy there, Jared.  I guess you're not on the Subway Diet anymore. Well, Jared the Subway Guy will be going away to prison for 15 years. And, this guy was one of the worst people in the world. I still can't believe he bragged about seeking and finding the underage girls to another person, plus this guy had a wife and kids. When he would go on these tours, he would seek out these children like a predator and he loved it. He was cruising in middle schools...middle schools. Plus, his child obesity charity never ever helped fight obesity and just lined his pockets with the money. What a terrible person. His lawyers tried to blame his horrible ways on his success and losing weight. From People.com, (( Bradford concluded that Fogle suffers from hypersexuality, mild pedophilia and alcohol abuse and dependency.  "One of his problems was that he had an increased sex drive," he says. "The second problem was he had some pro...

Trump out Trumps himself sort of

Image
First off, I need to note that I truly-truly dislike the Black Lives Matter movement, due to the fact they constantly ignore one of the major problems in the black community, black people killing black people. It bothers me that this powerful movement will not even bother addressing the far worst crime of black people destroying their own communities due to thug behavior. And, why attack far left leaning people that could be on your side by interrupting their speeches? I would take the leaders aside and let them tour east downtown or West Louisville to see who is causing all the damage to the communities. However, the thing that is really bothering me today is the anti-race and religion vibe I am getting from the people supporting Trump. It started out as a joke, but now it seems to have turn a certain portion of the GOP into stark-raving mad racist. And, I cringed before at his statement about creating a Muslim database. He then doubles down on stupid statement by askin...

Update II

Update II Well, I've been discharged from the hospital. I am not at 100%. but I hope to get answers from my doctor after I visit him. It was a bit disheartening to know that the professionals were puzzled my condition too. They figured out a virus had gotten into my body and weakened my heart. Now, I have to rebuild what I had before, but it can be healed. Being under the drugs while they looked for problems was an interesting experience to say the least. Anyway, I am back to blogging barring getting sick again, which could very well happen. But, only time will tell. 

Update

Sorry about the lack of updates.  I have had to check myself into a hospital due to my health getting bad.  I am doing better these pass two days.  I hope to come home soon.  I'll keep you updated.

Powers Boothe on Agents of Shield.

Image
I'm watching one of the episodes of Agents of Shield, and a familiar voice and then a face pops up on the show. It is the character-actor Powers Boothe. Here's the thing; Powers was in the first Avengers movie. Powers played a member of World Security Council in The Avengers. However, Powers wasn't there for Captain America II, which is a good thing for him because most of the Council was killed off. So, is Powers playing the same character from Avengers? Was his character a member of HYDRA and this is just him now being a bad guy? Many side actors from the movies have reprises their roles, what about Powers? Have they address this yet? 

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (huh?) (Still Greeking)

Image
My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (huh?) (Still Greeking) Like Paul Blart 2, was anyone really asking for another dose of Big Fat? Going back to the first movie, have tried watching that movie today? I have and I couldn't get through it. Yet, I kind of liked it back in the day. Actually, I'd be interested in watching a movie about the behind the scenes drama that happened on the spin-off TV show. I find it funny, because not much is mentioned about the drama bts on her wiki page . Plus, the show is set in its own (Earth 2) universe it seems. And, I just didn't see how you could translate the movie to a sitcom format. Things got so bad that even Nia begged the network to cancel her show . Wow. Now, I guess enough time has gone by for her do another movie. I just have to wonder if the same people are willing to see this type of movie again.   

Mother uses donation money to buy a car...

Image
Mother uses donation money to buy a car... I've been critical of my own community for a long time, but even this story shocks me because of the sheer balls on this woman. It is a horrible thing for a parent to lose a child. I've seen it happen a number of times in my life time. It leaves a hole in your life that's for sure. And, I can feel for this mother. From NY Daily News, ((Tyshawn Lee, who was walking to his grandmother’s house Monday afternoon, was “lured” into an alley and executed in what McCarthy called “probably the most abhorrent, cowardly, unfathomable crime that I’ve witnessed in 35 years of policing.” )) From Ny Daily News, ((The boy’s mother, Karla Lee, has admitted using the money donated through GoFundMe to buy the car but insisted it was what her son would have wanted to keep her safe. Big-hearted friends and strangers had donated more than $17,000 to a GoFundMe page headlined “Help me lay my baby to rest.” )) Yes, she took the 1...

Porkins Returns: Awakens

Image
Porkins Returns I love that the Internet makes some amusing parodies of certain things. Kevin Smith mentioned this poster on one of his podcasts. And, I always find Porkins humor funny. Basically, the sandwich poster is a parody of the Force Awakens posters of the name design. BTW, would you want a Porkins action figure? You know you would have been pissed at your parents for getting this guy.  Here are the character posters for the movie.   

Jem and the Holograms: Failed

Image
Jem and the Holograms: Failed From Huffington Post, ((None of the weekend's flops will garner as much attention as "Jem and the Holograms," though, which opened to $1.3 million to become one of the worst debuts of all time for a major studio movie opening in over 2,000 locations. Based on the 1980s animated series, the film opened on 2,413 screens, averaging $545 per screen, to take 15th place. )) Well, this movie just shat all over the cartoon franchise. This movie was also crowd-funded too, but it seems not even the fans of the cartoon series even bothered to watch the movie. Part of me really takes comfort that no one supported this movies because it seems they took out all the magic and tech stuff and just made a shitty teen/pop movie despite the fact Jem is more of superhero/hero type of person. Why take away all that and make a band movie? Now here's the thing, the movie only took 5 million to make so they might make it back, but I doubt it at ...

Harlem Nights: thoughts (Part 2 of 2)

Image
Harlem Nights: thoughts (Part 2 of 2) - Danny Aiello : He's great as the highly corrupt police detective that works for the mob. Danny almost steals the show in every scene he's in. He seems to be having a lot of fun being the total asshole-villain. And, the way they leave him in a closed bank is pretty amusing too. I think they just left him in the bank vault and he died. However, they do say they would call someone to let him out. I like that he hates the fact the black people are living the life and he's lives in a shitty apartment. -Redd Foxx: It is good to see him back in his r-rated element. Foxx is a dirty comedian that went to the PG side of things with a his sitcom. White people knew him as the junk man, but the black community listened to his dirty comedy albums. I love the glasses scene. He's not in the movie much, but it is great to see him. - Jasmine Guy is an interesting choice: I remember watching her on A Diffe...

Harlem Nights: thoughts (Part 1 of 2)

Image
Harlem Nights: thoughts (Part 1 of 2) Back in 1989, Eddie Murphy released a movie that he wrote/produced and directed. He was at his height of his career as Hollywood's comedic leading man. The movie co-starred two other generations of black comedians Richard Pryor and Redd Foxx. The movie came out on the heels of Coming to America and it showed confidence that Murphy had in himself and his other actor. Sadly, Murphy became sort of disenchanted with movies and started just doing them just for the money and distanced himself from the material. I think the critical and monetary rubbing this movie received from non-black people sort of hurt him. Around the 90s he started do the really mundane movies followed by the bad movies of the 2000s. And, here's the thing; black people really loved and supported this movie. It had to do with the fact there were SO MANY black comedians and actors in this movie that we loved and to see them all together was our form of The A...

Battle over Goodfellas

Image
Battle over Goodfellas I've been listening to a bunch of podcasts over at WolfPop, and I came across the movie podcast The Canon. In that podcast Devin Faraci and Amy Nichoison discuss the 'canon' of movies that are considered the best. Goodfellas came across their plate, and I consider it one of my favorite movies. And, I think it is way better than the Godfather movies, yeah I said it. Devin and Amy get into a heated discussion about the movie (in their first episode). I almost turned the podcast off when Amy called the movie sexist. (Uh, it's a mob movie about guys that are narrowed minded fools that think crime is a 9-5 job. Of course they're sexist. Mobsters aren't going to be the leaders of SJW causes.) Amy takes the side of hating the movie and Devin has to defend it. And, I am at a total shock in the fact Devin defends this movie hard. He doesn't wimp out. She comes in swinging and he takes her to task. I generally don't...

Rebel Wilson is now my hero

Image
Rebel Wilson is now my hero I've always liked Wilson and she always seemed down to Earth. She seems to have a good sense of humor about things doesn't take herself too serious. (like Lena Dunham) But, her bashing Kardashians just makes me like her more. It seems MTV wanted Wilson to co-present an award with two of the members from that shitty clan. From US Magazine, (( “ I was asked to present at the latest VMAs with Kendall and Kylie and said no,” she told radio hosts  Kyle   and  Jackie O . “They’re famous for no talent. I said I’d do it myself. What they stand for is totally against what I stand for.”) ) Good for her. I hope it does bother people in the arts, because they worked all their lives for their craft and these family members are more famous than them. While I think Kim K is a pretty woman, what does she have to offer to ascertainment? Have you seen her movies she's starred in? Yet, I can't really bash all reality shows either. I d...

Random Things

Image
Random Things ~ “I remember you”. It is very strange that I had an encounter with a woman that remembered me from grade school (elementary school). Somehow, she remembered me from nearly 30 years. It was an awkward moment because I can barely remember people from high school. What am I supposed to say to someone from grade school? Because I wasn't treated fondly, I can on;y remember moments and not people. Why do people want to remind you of a time way past? I was really-really young. ~Another Halloween done: I am kind of glad this one passed. I've never been a fan of the holiday even as a child. I saw one pizza guy dresses as Freddy, but he didn't have his claw or f'ed up face. So, he was the lame Freddy. Maybe he was Freddy the janitor before his fiery end? Jason is a better outfit because you just need shredded clothes and a hockey mask. (Un-Jason X) ~ Leah Remini writes a book about Scientology : I guess they really pissed her off and went...

Supergirl First Thoughts

Image
Supergirl First Thoughts You know I really liked this show a lot. I really enjoyed the first episode. Plus, there are tons of nods to the greater DC Comics lore. I wanted to give some thoughts on the first episode. Like other DC TV shows, the writing is very strong.   -Superman Lives: He's in the pilot, but plays such a side role that I like it. I love that he's already established in the world. He shouldn't show up that much anyway. -Dean Cain makes a cameo: Blink and you'll miss him in the montage of flashbacks in the first few minutes. Basically, he will become Kara's stepfather. Will he show up in more episodes? Right now, he's only listed for one episode. BTW, DC loves bringing back pass actors to play different parts. - Helen Slater also shows up in the same cameo scene: She was the original Supergirl way back in the day. Nice touch, DC. - Melissa Benoist is prefect as Kara/Supergirl: I like they've gone more of the...