Tumblr: I just can’t understand it
Tumblr:
I just can’t understand it
I’ve
been blogging for a very long time and I’ve seen the changes in the
blogging over the ten years. I watched the rise and fall of
MySpace and beginning of Twitter from the ozzoo. However, something
spawned out of Twitter/Facebook womb in the form of Tumblr.
I
felt that Twitter took a lot of steam out of blogging, but Tumblr
came around and there was a whole new group of bloggers, a bit more
self-absorbed. Yes, bloggers like me are already self-absorbed, but
Tumblr is a whole new level. It is like a whole new level.
Reading
through Tumblr just makes me feel old. I can't believe blogger is
the old person's gig. And, why get rid of the “e” in the word
tumbler? Is that supposed to be trendy?
Comments
I think the reason a lot of these sites lose that e is because someone else owns the domains with the right spelling.
After all, Flickr practically was the trope maker for that sort of thing.
Do we include the Brony Porn?