Posts

Showing posts from March, 2013

Sinbad: Back in action?

Image
Sinbad Do you remember Sinbad?: Well, most people don't. He was a family friendly comedian from back in the day. I mean this guy was popular...really popular. He had a few movies and major specials. (Plus, people remember those ugly pants he had.) I've always been interested in Sinbad because he glowed red hot in the 80s and early 90s and completely disappeared after that. No one gave a shit about Sinbad. It seemed I was the only trying to keep up with Sinbad. I remember reading that he was doing company gigs at meeting and crap. After Jingle All The Way, he pretty much disappeared from the face of the planet. Now, he's saying he made a mistake doing Celebrity Apprentice. This is a place where actors and reality stars go to die. From Huffington Post, (( "I never should have done ' Celebrity Apprentice ,'" he says in the clip. "I didn't want to do it because I didn’t want  Donald Trump   to say, 'You're fired.'...

Aurora: By Hans Zimmer

Image
Aurora: By Hans Zimmer After the Aurora shootings, Hans Zimmer wrote a wonderful piece of music dedicated to victims of the incident. This was that track. It is the “The Dark Knight Theme” that has been carried over throughout the series of movies. Here's the theme in an early form in Batman Begins. And the Theme returns for The Dark Knight in a darker form.

Best Star Trek Ad ever…Kirk vs. Gorn Match II

Image
  Best Star Trek Ad ever…Kirk vs. Gorn Match II Okay, that put a smile on my face.  Having watched a lot of the TOS episodes again, I really dug this spot.  Who knew the Gorn played videogames?  By the way, the Gorn design in the game looks more a kin to the versions used in the ST Enterprise show, which is a nice touch.  However, I am not that interested in the game, but it might be okay.  

Splash: Diving with the Stars?

Image
Splash:  Diving with the Stars?   Not to be confused with the 80s movie starring Daryl Hannah, Tom Hanks and John Candy.  I actually would have liked if this show was related to the old 80s movie instead of this shit.  Have we not only scraped the bottom, but no cut through the bottom?  It is rather sad to see we’ve gotten to the point where we want to see “stars” diving.  I can’t see how that’s interesting, but then again I am not into stars dancing either.  Have we’ve given up on actually writing a script? How about developing a compelling fictional show?  Now we just skip ahead to “stars” doing things?   Waiting on a Pizza with the Stars Baking with the Stars Grave Robbing with the Stars Ghost-busting with the Stars Sweeping with the Stars And, this is funny because this is second reality involving stars diving into water.  Stars in Danger: The High Dive was the failed FOX version of the show.  ...

Donglegate: The Adria Richards Saga Part 1

Image
Donglegate:  The Adria Richards Saga I don’t know if you've heard the story of Adria Richards and her incident at PyCon.  Basically, seated behind her two developers started making sexual comments using tech talk.  They said something about Forking and a term Big Dongle.  Richards was pissed and decided to dish out some Internet Justice.  She turned around, smiled and took the pictures of the two developers.  She then proceeds to post it on her powerful Twitter page.    From Her twitter page, (( Not cool. Jokes about forking repo's in a sexual way and "big" dongles. Right behind me  #pycon pic.twitter.com/Hv1bkeOsYP )) From there, things went terribly south.  The skinny guy on the left, not looking at the camera, got fired from his company due to the controversy. The guy has a family and was fired for making a dumb joke that she happened to hear.  It was the action of smiling, a false pretense, and takin...

House of Cards

Image
House of Cards This is my first watching of a Netflix series.  I am into the 4 th episode.  I am really impressed with the high quality of the series.  House of Cards (HC) is a series based on a BBC miniseries.  In a lot ways, this series has a miniseries feel to it.  The story clearly has a set end to it with all the elements being set up early in the series.  Some people are going to get hurt.  Think of this show as a realist version of the West Wing.  The West Wing, another show I am watching on Netflix, is a hopeful series that brings the best out of politics.  It is almost naive for it too.  HC is more of a mean-spirited version of the West Wing.  Actually, Spacey’s character would be a major villain in that series if they crossed paths.  There are things that bother me with The West Wing, where as HC does a better job with modern US politics. So far, The West Wing has some growing pains, and I think it has...

BioShock Infinite first impressions

Image
BioShock Infinite: I am watching the opening chapter to this game through a Let's Play. The visuals are amazing so far. Robotic Horses and a street full of people walking around doing their own things. Columbia is different than Rapture because it is so full of life. The music is really good. ~ God Only Knows: Did you just catch that the barbershop group sung a modern song? Was that a time displacement? It is a Beach Boy song from the 1960s. ~Heads or Tails: Was that mind control? ~We get another version of a “Big Daddy”. ~ Circus of Values voice guy has returned . ~It gets very bloody real quick.  

Bill Cosby hates you liking his sweaters

Image
Bill Cosby hates you liking his sweaters I guess he's been eating tainted pudding pops or that New Coke has been going to his head. I got a good kick out of this story because a guy named his site CosbySweaters.com and all hell broke loose when Cosby's lawyers sent the owners a cease and desist letter over the name Cosby Sweaters. They had to change the name of their website, and now it is called Next Impulse Sports. I liked the other name better. From the site Next Impulse Sports about the threat to sue, ((   In addition, as you know, the multi-colored, multi-patterned sweaters that Mr. Cosby wore on “The Cosby Show,” an iconic television program that aired from 1984 through 1992 and has continued in broadcast as reruns and in syndication both domestically and internationally through the present, are strongly associated with Cosby. The term “Cosby Sweater” instantly evokes Mr. Cosby and The Cosby Show.  )) Somehow those ugly sweaters ar...

Samsung likes women

Image
Let the Offense begin: Samsung has to apologize for its own dancers? Samsung had a bunch of women dancing around some of their products in South Africa. This time around a photo guy named Axel Buhrmann took a picture of said event . From Huff Post, (( The event, which featured young women in swimsuits dancing in front of a new line of refrigerators and washing machines, was called "tawdry marketing" by South African tech news site GirlGuides and  excoriated in an open letter   from  South African tech journalist Samantha Perry . )) So, they're dancing around a damn washing machine. While I don't think of sexy babes when I want to wash my clothes, I do think it is a bit of an overreaction. Is it stupid to have half-naked women dancing around household products? Yes, but then you have to go after every tech show that hires a booth babe. I'm not even if it was even sex they were selling. Okay, on second thought...hmm nice.  What a messa sayi...

Enlightened Cancelled

Image
Enlightened Cancelled From E-Online , ((It was a very difficult decision," a rep for HBO said in a statement. "We've decided not to continue Enlightened for a third season. We're proud of the show and we look forward to working with Mike White and Laura Dern in the future.")) Because I just read the story last night, I decided to watch the first episode of the second season On Demand on the HBO.  And, I have to say I actually liked what I saw.  The episode was filmed in a very feature film fashion.  Laura Dern is amazing in the loopy role of the main character.  And, she looks amazing too.  It is too bad I and others didn't  get into the show.  

Sim City 5 launch was a mess...sound familiar?

Image
Sim City 5 launch was a mess...sound familiar? Error 37 Part II? Why do you have to connect to the internet given that you're playing solo? If you're going to force people to play online, have the severs work. The kicker is when the sever drops the game, you might lose your data. And, I am not shocked EA is involved in this bullshit. And, I find it strange that they would pay for all these severs given that it will cost more money to keep them up and running. Once again, the game is receiving great reviews for its content, but negative reviews for its service. I know you're worried about pirated copies, but this is at the cost of your loyal customers. From Wiki, (( These issues included  network outages , problems with saving progress and difficulty connecting to the game's servers. As a result, some reviewers were unable to review the game, labeling the launch as a "disaster" and the game as "unplayably broken", urging playe...

Random Things

Image
Random Things ~Paparazzi Steve gets slammed and arrested: “I can't take this.” Well, you shouldn't have confronted the cop. The best is there was a woman that asked, “Is this part of the show?” Supposedly, this guy walked onto the set of the Smash in NY. I guess this incident will give the poorly rated show a little bit of a boost, because right now that show is in the crapper as far as ratings go. This guy has been known as a jerk even to other paparazzi guys. Check out the video . Okay, maybe he's even more of a tool ... ~RIP Paul Bearer: I remember seeing this creepy guy follow around the Undertaker for a few years. He really sold the gimmick of The Undertaker to the mass audiences. He was basically The Undertaker's sidekick. I totally forget he was also the manager for Kane as well. This guy started in the WWE back in 1990, wow that's a long time. I had no idea this was where origin of Kane came from. ~Jesus Airlines? Is this real? ...

Thoughts on Soda and Palin: Soda on Palin?

Image
Thoughts on Soda and Palin I generally don't get into politics, but... This is probably one of the dumbest photos I've seen in a long time. At first, I was like “That doesn't look like Sarah Palin”. My second thought was “she looks really goofy with that Big Gulp”. And, yes that Soda ban in New York is a stupid idea and we don't need our governments acting like mothers. We need to teach people to drink and eat in portions instead of large amounts, but forcing the government get involved isn't answer. Mainly, because the government usually screws these things up. We can agree America is getting fatter, but education is the key, and not more laws on the books. A smarter and well informed population can make better decisions than clamping them on from above with laws.   What I don't like is conservative jumping on this bandwagon. Side note: If Palin is what the right has to offer, they're in more trouble than I thought. And Palin is one of ...

Star Wars Detours: Delayed Trailer

Image
Star Wars Detours: Delayed Trailer You won't be seeing this anytime soon, because Disney is postponing this parody movie. Lucjust asfilm set the release date for March 11, and that has come and gone. It should also be noted that Disney hasn't set an alt-date either. Something tells me that they'll just drop it. Seth (Joker) Green was involved with this project, and probably because of his Robot Chicken involvement. While it seems to be set during the post Prequel universe, it is one of causalities of the Disney restructuring of the SW expanded universe. I actually like some of the stuff in this trailer. I love some of the Prequel bashing in the trailer. The kicker is that Lucasfilm has made all the Detours videos private on their channel, as if they want nothing to do with it anymore. Mashable.com has a great story on the “shoving aside” all the prequel material of late. Yes, the Prequels were trouble, but the side portions that sprung from those ...

Lil Kim, You've changed...

Image
Lil Kim: What happened to your face... Holy crap, that's a lot of surgery. I hate say this, but someone close should have stopped her before this around of surgeries. You can't even recognize her anymore. I have no idea why certain women fear getting old so much. And, they fear it so much that they're willing to destroy their faces in the process. I mean look at these pictures. She is slowly turning into a cat person. Why, Kim, why? There was a time when you were either in Foxy Brown or Kim's camp. They both had some amazing rap flows. While I found Brown sexier, Kim was a better rapper. I always say this but, what would 90s Kim say about Lil Kim 2.0? She is blaming blogs for ruining her image, and she is trying blame it on photo shopping.  Am I also in that group now?   And, now her and Wendy Williams are having a feud now. Also, Nicki, you better watch those surgeries too.

Rude Theater Goers

Image
Rude Theater Goers I love these stories.  I had some bad experiences in the theater, but nothing like these stories.   Maybe because I go at earlier times, I don’t get the bad experiences that I used to when I went to late showings.  I still get annoyed with the chomping of popcorn and the big gulp drinks.  The cell phones are annoying too.  I have no idea why security/management doesn’t throw people out.  It reminds me of this video.  

Scary Movie 5 Trailer 2 (not funny)

Image
Scary Movie 5 Trailer 2 Wow, that was unfunny.  The Scary Movies haven’t been that funny since the first movie.  The second movie was okay, but the 3 rd and 4 th movies were not funny.  The Wayans brothers made the first two and the Zucker Brothers were involved with the last three.  David Zucker is only producing this one and isn’t directing.  However, this one actually looks worst than the last one.  You might remember that there was another movie with a similar concept.  It was called A Haunted House   with Marlon Wayans as one of the writers and stars.  Like the Scary Movie that is coming out soon, it parodied the found-footage/haunting movies that Hollywood likes to release today.  I actually got confused and thought that A Haunted House was this movie and that they just changed the name. At this point, do we really need another Scary Movie?  - Lindsay Lohan :  Did she really need to be cast in the mov...

Domino's Pizza is very different in Japan...

Image
Domino's Pizza is very different in Japan... Uh, this very strange. First off, why is the Japan CEO doing the ads? He's no Dave Thomas.  He comes across as that creepy old man on the subway that smells like burnt shoe polish and carries a oily brown paper bag.   Second, what's up with the extreme closeups? Who the f' is Hatsune Miku? Does she delivery pizza? And, some of the other Japan Domino's ads are strange too...It is as if someone wanted to spoof how Americans viewed Japanese pop culture, but failed at it.

YouTube Comment Spamming Robots?

Image
YouTube Comment Spamming Robots? Yep, you're supposed to take this song as being legit. It's bad, but with over 900 “likes”. Something doesn't add up here.  BTW, why is this guy trying to be Lil Wayne?   While digging through The Daily Dot's story on a “self-made” pop star, I read through the reddit story that talked about the allegedly huge use of Spambots on his music videos . Given the “quality” of his songs, there was no way he was getting that many positive comments and votes. I've notice that there are a few comment-er guys that have the same exact “Likes” in each channel. Check it out. http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9E_8qkyzpsF1gzbfkBcJyg/videos?view=15&flow=grid http://www.youtube.com/user/GerrardSandy/videos?flow=grid&view=15 http://www.youtube.com/user/KristeinOme/videos?view=15&flow=grid http://www.youtube.com/user/HundtJane/videos?view=15&flow=grid http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqU7hzhqSlKGHq6yzjT2htw/vid...

Star Wars: The Clone Wars ends after five seasons

Image
Star Wars: The Clone Wars ends after five seasons From USA Today , (( Lucasfilm said it's no longer producing new episodes of Clone Wars   for Cartoon Network, and the show recently ended its fifth season with youngster Ahsoka Tano walking away from the Jedi order )) This is real shame because I really liked this show...more so than the prequels in the Star Wars universe. The show really fleshed out the character more than Lucas could even imagine or care to. The show seemed to be character and plot based, which I think is the focus the prequels needed to go.  The people behind the show really showed what the universe was capable of given that Lucas wasn't involved. There was a maturity level with the show you didn't see with other shows on the Cartoon Network.  People actually died and not in a so nice way too.   I am also sure having a show on Cartoon Network doesn't help Disney with the profits because they would have to share with CN. This is ...

Nude Asian Woman goes completely crazy on bus/train (not safe for work)

 Nude Asian Woman goes completely crazy on bus/train (not safe for work) Make sure to check it out here (NSFW!). For once, someone gets naked in public with a nice body. When you read Naked Asian Woman on bus, it is usually a porn video. This seems to be real.  What happened before this?  Why did she get naked?  What happened after this?   ~She yells the “I will n-word your ass.”: I had no idea you could turn the N-word into a verb. What does that even mean? Thank you, crazy naked woman. ~She follows up her insightful remark with, “I want rice, not beans.” That's good to know. ~Look at all the men on the bus. They're very happy.  You don't see that everyday. ~I can't find nothing on this video other than the posting.

Justin Bieber grows some balls?: nope

Image
 Justin Bieber grows some balls? The wheels are starting to come off the Bieber train. Everyday there are more and more stories of this guy losing it. We're starting to see the end of this guy. Too much money and too much fame and very little talent will destroy you. However, this time around, I have side with Bieber. He had every right to lash out. (I can't believe I am defending Justin.) 1 Butt-hurt Paparazzi:Uh, clearly Justin just brushed up against you trying to get in the van. It looks like you were looking for a reaction from him and you got it. Paparazzi set these type of things up all the time.  They something demeaning and this is the reaction they want.   2 “Back to America”: Wrong country, bro. He's from Canada. It would be nice if the bloody Paparazzi got their facts straight. I don't think any country wants to claim him now, so call him country-less. 3 We all know that Justin couldn't beat anyone up let alone a fa...