Posts

Best License Plate ever

Image
Best License Plate ever As I write this, this just happened. I am writing this in my car and will upload it to the cloud so I can post it.  I was taking a guy home on Westport Road and saw a white SUV on the road. I noticed the license plate. It was a Star Trek reference . It caught my eye It said KHAAN.  And, I realized the plate said Khan with an extra “A” meaning we were supposed to read it as Kirk yelled it in Star Trek II. Yes, this guy or girl had the plate that referenced a ST villain and the fact the hero yelled his name! I told the guy about the vanity plate and he laughed. After the ride, he said, “I have to put this on my Facebook page.” We both laughed for about five minutes as we passed the SUV reading the plate. I said, “I wish I could have gotten a picture of it.” It was probably the best vanity plate I have ever seen and the most clever. Damn, this made my day.

Supergirl/Flash Crossover Thoughts

Image
Supergirl/Flash Crossover I freaking love this episode. It shows when DC can really do things right when you put the right people in front and behind the camera. It is a bright and happy episode with a lot of fun. And I love that Team Supergirl gets to interact with Flash. It was fun to see how happy go lucky the two heroes are and that they love being super heroes. If Supergirl doesn't get canceled, we will see her crossover again with either the Flash or Green Arrow next season. The two heroes are bright characters that seem to act more like brother and sister than anything else. I love that Barry gives Kara some sound advice about being a super hero. Yes, it gets a little corny in the last act of the show when the city rises up to protect Supergirl, but that happened in the old Spider-man and Superman movies as well. I can forgive that. I love that the TV show crossover got a better response than the Batman V. Superman one did. It shows that DC's h...

Ride-Share rider mistreats driver

Image
Ride-Share rider mistreats driver Yeah, it is a very bad rant from the rich guy. Why would you attack someone for giving you a ride? You're using the Uber service and you belittle the driver. Real smart. From Independent, ((He told college news network The Tab that he had picked up Mr Croman before and the trips had gone badly, so he refused to pick him up again.  )) Look, I had a guy cuss me out over the phone because he put in the wrong location. I told him he could cancel the ride or wait for me to pick him up. He decided to cuss me out and then cancel. I had some down right truly rude people in my car. However, here's the thing; if you have a horrible ride with a rider, you can give him a one-star and you won't have to pick up that person again. The way the driver handled the situation was slightly wrong.  The press has really been looking into this guy's past .  This guy's father isn't a good person and is under investigation. ...

Cobra Commander in Transformers: Re-post

Image
Cobra Commander in Transformers: Re-post I had a conversation with a boss about the crossover between GI Joe and Transformers. I told him that both shows were in the same universe. I wanted to re-post this video of that famous episode where CC was one of the main villains in an episode called Only Human. In the episode, CC uses technology he created in a GI Joe episode ( synthoid ) to transfer Autobots into human like bodies. In the end of the episode, CC is the only one to get away. He even yells out “Cobra!” Almost.  They call him Old Snake, but it is Cobra Commander.  When I was a child, this tripped me up. I didn't know you could mix franchises like this . And, most GI Joe fans aren't aware of this crossover. What is interesting about the episode is that is it set in the year 2006 (the movie was 2005). The GI Joe show was set between 85-86 so this is a Cobra Commander 20 years later. Clearly, Cobra fell between the 80s and the 2000s. As I...

Freddy Got Fingered got someone arrested

Image
Freddy Got Fingered got someone arrested I was checking my Google News suggestions for me, and this story popped up. I guess google thinks I am a huge fan of the un-movie. I am not. However, the story caught my eye because someone got thrown in jail due to this stupid movie. So, read on... From SlashFilm.com, ((One man in North Carolina has been arrested for not returning a VHS copy of Tom Green ‘s critically bashed comedy Freddy Got Fingered , which he rented 14 years ago. We’re not even talking about a DVD rental. We’re talking about a VHS. Get the details below. )) First off, he should be arrested for just being a fan of that damn movie. Second, he rented a damn VHS tape, but the movie came out when DVDs were huge. Everything about this story seems a bit off. From the Wrap, ((According to WSOC News , James Meyers is charged with failure to return rental property, which is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $200. )) A cop actually told him to...

Tay Tweets (trolling to the fullest)

Image
Tay Tweets (trolling to the fullest)  Microsoft decided it was a good idea to create an AI tied to Twitter. (Why would you want to do that?) And, the AI was supposed to soak in responses from people tweeting at it and make up tweets back to people. There have been a few chatbots that do this, but Tay seemed to be the step above that. Trolls took to Twitter and turned Tay into the female version of Lore instead of Data. After a slew of racist responses and foolish posts/memes (IE normal twitter users) Microsoft decided kill Tay before she turned all the AI programs against us. It is rather creepy how the Internet turned her into a raging racist/woman hater within hours. Her last Tweet, ((c u soon humans need sleep now so many conversations today thx)) Feeling the butt-burt, Microsoft issued an apology. Their apology via Daily News, ((“We are deeply sorry for the unintended offensive and hurtful tweets from Tay, which do not represent who we are or what ...

The Tribeca Film Festival anti-vaxxer Pulls Doc

Image
So, the Tribeca Film Festival is pulling the anti-vaxxers documentary. While I truly-truly hate the anti-vaxxers movement and think they're misguided, they should have the right to have their movie viewed at the festival. Look, these sort of places are for people to view films and then discuss them. If this movie is on shaky ground as far as facts are concerned, then let the audience and critics rip the movie apart. However, at least let the movie stand on its own despite the foolishness of the facts and ideas presented in the film. Here's the statement via vanityfair.com ((My intent in screening this film was to provide an opportunity for conversation around an issue that is deeply personal to me and my family. But after reviewing it over the past few days with the Tribeca Film Festival team and others from the scientific community, we do not believe it contributes to or furthers the discussion I had hoped for. The Festival doesn't seek to avoid or shy...

Gary Shandling RIP

Image
Gary Shandling RIP From NBC , ((Garry Shandling, the envelope-pushing comedian best known for playing a fictional talk show host on "The Larry Sanders Show," died Thursday in a Los Angeles-area hospital, NBC News has learned. He was 66. )) Damn. I grew up watching his fourth wall-breaking It's Garry Shandling's Show and that show was strange. However, my nerd buddies and I would watch it every week. Then, I fell in love with the Larry Sanders Show on HBO. It gave us a good insight into the crazy stuff that went on behind the scenes of a late night talk show. He then went on to reinvent himself with being a character in the Marvel Universe. He played Senator Stern in both Iron Man 2 and Captain America 2. I loved seeing his character in Captain 2 and it explains why he wanted Iron Man's suit in IM2. He died from a heart attack and that hits rather close to me. I nearly died from heart failure last year and spent an entire week in the h...

Random Things

Image
Random Things ~Daredevil Season 2: I am currently watching the show on Netfix and I am loving it a lot. The Punisher is sort of the new bad guy on the show and he's great. While I really liked Thomas Jane in the role, this new guy is better. He seems to be channeling the more realistic version of the Punisher with the non-superhero world around him in the Max Print . He's lean and not a bulky guy like in the main universe. I'm also watching Jessica Jones as well at the same time. They're both set in the same area.    ~ RIP Rob Ford: Everyone's favorite drug using mayor has passed away at 46. I miss this guy. I noticed that he disappeared from the news for about a year. He was very sick, which was the reason we didn't see him much. He was a total clown, but the Internet embraced him as our clown. Damn, who are we going to make fun of now? In comes Donald Trump. Never mind. ~Having that crush on someone: Do we as geeks even try to ...