Posts

Showing posts from August, 2017

Reed College protest

Image
Reed College protest I believe in protesting and letting your voices be heard, but disrupting a class is wrong. People are paying huge amounts of money to hear a lecture and learn something. Disrupting the class for a protest is just wrong. People are there to learn and not have you disrupt their class. Just take it outside. It is that plain and simple. It just seems counter to your cause when you stop the very reason people are there...to learn. Are these the people you should protest to? Students?  

Cool as Ice: JonTron review

Image
Cool as Ice: JonTron review It is good to see JonTron back to doing what he does best. I disagreed with some of his political stances of late. He took a few months off, rightfully so. And, he came back with this review. Cool as Ice is one of those forgotten shit-gems that went out like Vanilla Ice. So, how bad did this movie do? From the wiki page, (( The film was developed as a vehicle for Vanilla Ice. It has received negative reviews, and was a  commercial failure , grossing only $1.2 million from a $6 million budget. )) Even with a low budget, the movie failed.  As long as you view Mr. Ice as the villain, the movie sort of works.  

Gizmodo and that Hoss/h3h3 story

Image
I posted a story about H3H3 winning the suit and thinking that was the end of the story. Case closed. Then, Gizmodo decided to write a story disguised as a hit-piece against h3h3. Everything about the story is on the up and up until a certain point where the writer tries to frame the story as a “Big guy vs. Little guy”. From Gizmodo, (( Now is a good time to point out that the couple behind the H3H3 channel aren’t necessarily angels. They racked up millions of YouTube subscribers by making fun of other YouTubers and generally stirring up shit. And in terms of subscriber base, the H3H3 couple certainly comes off as a big bully. (H3H3 has 4.6 million subscribers, while Matt Hoss has 170,000.) With their strong following, the H3H3 couple also raised over $100,000 in crowdfunding for their defense. Even big bullies enjoy the benefits of the First Amendment, though. )) That's part of creating content. If I create work, people are going to rate/review and even mock it. You HAVE to...

The H3H3 vs Matt Hoss: It is over.

Image
The H3H3 vs Matt Hoss: It is over. I am not going to go through the entire history, but another YT person sued h3h3 over some butt-hurt feelings. H3 announced it on Twitter . In the end, the Judge made a judgment in the case. From Tech Crunch, (( “ The key evidence in the record consists of the Klein and Hoss videos themselves,” Forrest  writes . “Any review of the Klein video leaves no doubt that it constitutes critical commentary of the Hoss video; there is also no doubt that the Klein video is decidedly not a market substitute for the Hoss video. For these and the other reasons set forth below, defendants’ use of clips from the Hoss video constitutes fair use as a matter of law.” )) H3's video didn't replace the original video and came back as review/parody more than anything else. The judge also dismissed the defamed aspect of the lawsuit. So, yeah this is a win for critics of work and parody. I wouldn't put it past Matt Hoss to sue them again. Right no...

More Chris Chan foolishness

Image
More Chris Chan foolishness Every time I think Chris Chan is going to bore me, he does something completely stupid. After the Brony-Con, Chris Chan continues to wear his stupid My Little Pony ears and horn...everywhere. he even wears this headgear out in public. He even wears the damn thing in church. Church! And, that was what got him in trouble. While sitting through the service, which was about recent events with hit and run incident in VA, some people started to get pissed off at Chris sitting there with his ears and horn on . His counselor quietly passed him a note telling him to take it off. Offended, he did take it off.   Completely missing the point, he was upset and decided to bother one of the MLP actresses with a handwritten, not via Twitter. It should be noted he is STILL wearing his MLP outfit today. I am not sure if he is going to wear it into court tomorrow if he shows up.  He doesn't have a true...

Game of Thrones: Beyond the Wall (Thoughts)

Image
Once again, we are reminded why the White Walkers are truly total badasses. This episode didn't disappoint. I love how the show keeps building upon itself with the growing threat of the White Walkers and their zombie horde. As many have stated, this is basically a western just set in a sword-wielding time period with fantasy elements. The action scenes were filmed like a grand western battle with a small force dealing with a bigger surrounding force. I liked the final stand aspects of it. There are a few video game element thrown in too with them picking off zombie after zombie that I enjoyed as well. This band of folks didn't get along at first but fought together like a team. And, I love that Jon Snow is willing to give himself up to let the others get away. Speaking of that, we get our first glimpse of the Dragons just destroying the horde of zombies with their fire. We have been waiting years to see this moment and it is amazing to watch finally. Great special...

My Thoughts of recent events.

Image
 Due to recent events, I have to add my two cents.  Generally, I am sick of the Trump protest and the far-right nonsense that I just ignore it all.  And, I will probably not vote in the next election.   I was born in the 70s and grew up in the 80s, so I have been around for a long time. I've seen political strife for years, but I have never seen it this mean and personal. I generally try to keep this blog as positive as possible, but the recent events in VA need to be discussed. I may disagree with the far right, but that doesn't give me the right to hit someone over the head with a bike lock or set someone's hair on fire. That also doesn't give me the right to hit a group of left-leaning protesters with a car either. Here's the thing, crashing a car into a group of protesters is wrong and shows how disconnected we are with people. There is so much hatred in the air that this redneck decided to ram his car into a crowd of protesters. The far-far-right has...

unsolicited opinions about Israel: Rick and Morty?

Image
Did Rick and Morty do an unofficial joke about the meme “unsolicited opinions about Israel”? Of course, the alien “star-based” hero would never have known about the political issues of Israel or if their unsolicited. I think this is a subtle jab at Marvel's foolish joke in   Angela, Queen of Hel and that strange off-character rant. Keep in mind THIS episode is based on superheroes and the Marvel team-ups and Guardians of the Galaxy. I'm not sure which writer slipped this in, but it is clearly a side joke in there about Marvel while making a bigger joke about this issue and no one wanting to touch the subject. Not even the man made of a million ants wants to talk about it. It seems they hid a meme within a bigger joke. Side Note: The Angela comic was later canned due to low sales.  

About that Taylor Swift Courtroom sketch art

Image
About that Taylor Swift Courtroom sketch art I was watching the Double Toasted guys rip on this dude's drawings and they're right. The artwork leaves much to be desired. I have to say they do look like coloring book drawings. Damn.

DSP Tried It: Being trolled in World of Warcraft

Image
DSP Tried It: Being trolled in World of Warcraft Okay, this one had me laughing a great deal. For his Patreon goal being reached, he had to play WOW on his stream. The problem was that hundreds of trolls went to his starting zone and messed with him. They killed every monster and kept turning him into a turkey. While I have been down for a while, this truly raised my spirits. I love how he complained about the chat not helping him and the fact the game is “too social”. You can tell he is really pissed about this. He hates social interaction of any kind.

Jump on it , My Brony

Image
Due to other factors and recent events, I feel a bit depressed. However, then I saw this gem of a picture.  Basically, Chris went to a Brony Con and walked around dressed  as his favorite My Little Pony outfit. Even though he has money-lending companies suing him, he goes on spending money (given to him by tax payers and fans) to stroll around a convention. The money-lending company WILL garnish his wages and makes that government check that is around 800 dollars a month to whatever he makes on   Patreon . Yet, I have to give him credit for being oblivious to the major issues he's facing. He just keeps on going through without a care in the world and keeps spending hundreds of dollars on VG stuff and toys. He looks happy, if not creepy and out of place. Even for a Brony convention... Side note: I don't get the Brony thing and I've only met one male Brony dude. He was walking around with an MLP backpack (at age 20). I laughed and went on my way. I guess...

Star Trek The Motion Picture "memory wall scene"

Image
From Forgotten Trek, (( Director Robert Wise rejected it during postproduction and replaced it with Spock’s spacewalk. )) I got these photos from Forgotten Trek where they go into great detail the scenes involving Kirk and Spock exploring V'ger. Here are the scenes as they were written in the script . And, check out the other site that has a ton of pictures of this forgotten scene . The key is to find out what really happened behind the scenes for Paramount to pretend the memory wall scene was never filmed. Paramount has stead-fast denied that these scenes were ever filmed and only released test footage of the suits flying by. It was during this time when Abel's FX team was fired from the movie, (Paramount is very wishy-washy about this fact) and Trumbull and Dykstra were brought on full time. Trumbull and Dysktra scrapped all the footage from the memory wall scene and completely re-wrote the scene. Instead of a long scene where Spock and Kirk enter...

Red Letter Media “busted” Ghostbuster (2016)

Image
Red Letter Media “busted” Ghostbuster (2016) After the dust has settled, we get an in depth review by Mr. Plinkett. My biggest issues are some of the story elements and character things needed a re-write. Why not show the GB group bust more than one ghost in the first two acts? What was the point of Bill Murray's appearance? Where are the montages about catching ghosts? Something was lost between the pre-production and post.   Yeah, the blame does fall on   Paul Feig . He had the cast and the effects to make a good movie. And, yes Mr. T does sell an oven just like Hulk Hogan. Except Mr. T's oven doesn't allegedly burn down houses.

Drive Time: Yep

Image
Drive Time: Yep I like seeing this commercial and love the joke during the end of the ad. The Drive Time ads are usually about these two ladies kidnapping potential car buyers and brainwashing them about their product. Kind of creepy. So, they're usually lame, but this one is cute. This one is a bit different because it parodies the hip-hop MV from the late 90s and early 2000s. The light on the camera lens gives it away. The kicker is this song is based on a song by E-40 called “Choices”. It is a rather dirty song. It has a connections to pimping. I guess E-40 loves Yoda. Was it ripe? Nope.  

Rick and Morty: Pickle Rick!

Image
Rick and Morty: Pickle Rick! Brilliant episode. I like this one as much as the season opener. And, it mentions the original Earth they left behind from the first five episodes. It starts out as a bottle episode and turns into an action movie thing. Then, it switches gears into a show about emotions, while still carrying over the divorce story arc. The concept of turning Rick into a pickle was neat to me. I like the pure crazy nature of it while still playing the action elements rather straight. He did all this so he would not have to go to therapy. That kind of hit home, because I had to make a decision to start going to therapy earlier this year. It is an odd episode that made me laugh a lot. And, it dealt with some serious family issues as well. However, we now know that the Smith family is completely screwed. -Cats don't like pickles?: That is news to me. I love that it was the fat cat that freaked out and attacked Pickle Rick and started him on his...

Rustville the conclusion?

Image
Well, there is an update on the Ariana Grande lawsuit case I wrote about earlier...I didn't want to write about it during the court case because he wanted people to talk about it. Thus, hyping up the issue. He went around to all the local news channels to ask them to cover the case. (they turned him down) And, I didn't want to add to this BS at the time. Basically, the judge threw out the lawsuit. Make sure to head over to Kiwi Farms to read the transcripts from the court appearance. The judge and lawyer in the case pretty much took turns destroying Russ. Make sure to back page into more of the transcripts, but the meat of it in on this page. The defense team uses Russ' own FB post against him, which is probably the reason Russ's FB is gone. Anyway, the lawsuit was thrown out for a number of reasons. And, the judge actually threatened to put him in jail for some of the things he said about the lawyer defending Ariana Grande. Russ now owes 1,500 ...

American Gods

Image
American Gods Because I was out of the loop, I let this series pass me by. I’ve watched all eight episodes of the first season and I have to say I am really digging the show. I honestly didn’t think I would like it due me being a non-religious person. But, the concept is rather brilliant in a way. It is a world where all gods exist in some form or another in North America. Some are old and others are brand new. They interact and have disputes like the rest of us. The show is based on the Neil Gaiman book. From what I can tell, the series is following the book rather faithfully. I think the concept is open for changes and course-corrections too. Bryan Fuller is deeply involved in the development of the series with Gaiman. -The format of the show is interesting: The cold openings are usually a short "movie" about a god living in America and the things they do. Some of them have normal jobs and others do their godly deeds. I like seeing inside these gods' li...

Well, that happened

Image
Guess who is being sued That’s right. It is Chris Chan. He’s been racking up credit debt for many years now. He's been basically refusing to pay for these loans and it has finally caught up with him. Mariner Finance has put their foot down and taking him to court . Here’s the issue; he generally doesn’t tend to take care of things like this. So, he could end up in jail for not showing up to court. It is a shame he's turned into this mess. Given his living conditions, something has got to give. He lives in a fire hazard with the ever growing piles of junk and filth. I think he needs to be placed in a mental hospital and given the proper treatment. Side note: I find it amusing that they’re using his “dead name” in the court documents. I guess he's not legally a female woman yet. Will he spaz out when they use his dead name in court and improper pronoun? Does this seem like a sane person?