Posts

Showing posts from April, 2014

Roger Rabbit Stuff

Image
Roger Rabbit Stuff -I knew about the deal between WB and Disney. They had to share equal amount of time on screen between the two studios' characters. The other characters outside this deal didn't though like Popeye and Betty Boop.  You will probably never see these two studios work together like this again.   -So the voice of Bart Simpson is in the movie.  She probably threw away that money to a certain space church then.   -The deleted Pig Head scene: I've talked about this scene in a very popular post back in the day. -So they animated certain portions of human people in quick paced scenes. Very strange, but something I didn't know about the film. My favorite hidden thing is the “cow pie” in the street when Eddie first goes through Toon Town. The “cow pie” is actually a pie with a cow's face on it and it also sings the song. Eddie actually runs over the cow pie, thus killing it! 

The Way Way Back

Image
The Way Way Back I saw the trailer for this film and thought it looked good.   I just never got around to it until it showed up On Demand from one of the paid cable channels.   Despite a few “setting” problems, the movie totally works as character piece.   It is not so much interested in plot but moving a few characters forward.   I loved this movie…maybe because it seems to mirror my life.   The lead character Duncan finds himself going to a vacation home for summer break with a new family structure. He will have a new stepfather in the form of Steve Carell. Carell's character is a complete utter jerk to Duncan, but it does get this character to kick-start his life and open up. By doing so, he's able to take chances and open up to people at his new summer job. Liam James  as Duncan is the perfect kid to play this unhappy child from a divorced family.  Duncan simply wants to be left alone and be unhappy.  He starts to open up once he begi...

Uh, I need a horse fast...

Image
Uh, I need a horse fast... From Huffington Post, (( An Arizona woman has been arrested on bestiality charges after allegedly trying to arrange sex with a horse via Craigslist. )) Who knew just looking for a horse to F' will get you arrested? I'll keep that in mind...if I ever lose my mind. How does one wine and dine a horse? Do you set up some sugar cubes and a TV in the background? All kidding aside, yes it is disgusting to bang a horse, but did we need this sting conducted on a girl that wanted to pay for a “good time” with a horse? Aren't there other more pressing crimes to deal with than this? Oh, did I mention that the cops brought a horse from their own stable to pose as a hooker horse? So, the cop horse was playing undercover horse.     This whole story is nuts.   Horses don't use the Internet.  You don't need to post selfies for the horse.  

Random Stuff

Image
Random Stuff ~Trying to keep the stress down: I've on edge a bit with certain things popping up and some major family issues. Certain things I can't change, because people refuse to change them. But, there are some minor things here and there are also getting me upset and I really shouldn't get that worked up about them. As far as the family thing, that family member has chosen drinking and drugs over everything else and we need to distance ourselves from him. ~ Justice League will follow Batman vs Superman : This is why Marvel is kicking your ass creatively, DC. Again, WB is doing this whole universe building thing ass-backwards. The first thing they need to do is incorporate the Green Arrow TV series into the same universe. They really should have incorporated the Dark Knight series into the universe and gotten The New Batman at the end of the series to be the Batman. Set the Wonder Woman character in a one off movie before setting up Justice League. ...

Knight Rider Theme: One of the best TV Themes ever (repost/reblog)

Image
Knight Rider Theme: One of the best TV Themes ever MC and I talked about how old TV shows really went out of their ways to give us kickass themes for their opening shows. This is a reproduction of the main them from Knight Rider. The DJ dude did a really good job recreating the sound of the old theme. I fondly remember rushing downstairs to listen to the opening theme. By the way, I love the bass line.  The theme is clearly 80s just like the third season Transformers theme.   Other people found this theme so kick ass that at least three mainstream rappers have used the theme in their songs.  I like them all and they work in a retro sort of way.  

They didn't teach that in school...

Image
Didn't know lap dances were a part of the teaching process... I don't remember this happening when I went to middle school. All I would receive from teachers is a yell and lower grade. Back in the day, I couldn't even get a girl my age to even talk to me let alone what this kid had happen to him. Saw this over at Tommy's site and said “What in the hell?” From ABC Local.com, ((A middle school teacher is facing a felony charge, after she allegedly gave a student a lap dance for his birthday. )) And, you think that's bad. She is 42 years old and preformed the lap dance on the 15 year old...in front of the rest of the class! Given that there are cameras everywhere and in everything, why would she think this wouldn't be leaked out? Why would she even think this shit would be a good idea to begin with? I am at a total loss for words. By the way, she's claiming the she was pressured into doing it by the students. Uh, does that mean I cou...

Avril Lavigne: Hello Kitty

Image
Avril Lavigne: Hello Kitty It is as if she wrapped Katy Perry and Keshia into one annoying music video. You're trying too hard. This song has everything that is wrong with pop music today. Throw in autotune and shitty dubstep. Now, we just follow trends in order to make music.  Lavigne isn't the peak of great music, but at least it didn't sound like the crap today. Now, she's just joined the rest of them and thrown in disjointed music in with yelling. - Racist? : Not at a ll. It is just a long line of Pop Stars using Japanese culture in their music videos. There's nothing racist about this video really. It just comes across as annoying and unoriginal. Are we going to have a Cancel Lavigne hashtag battle soon? Oh, crap. -Candy motif: Uh, didn't Katy already do this? -Skin Diamond haircut: Why are women shaving half their hair off? How is this sexy? It looks like you've been fighting a samurai.   

Nintendo card code stolen within minutes if not seconds...real smooth.

Image
Why in the heck would you post your download code online? Found this on Know Your Meme . I sometimes love naive people, but you just gave up 50 bucks to some asses on the Internet. People were probably racing to use it...even if this is Nintendo and no one really uses Nintendo. Another thing ruined by Twitter. Stop Tweeting every single thing. People, we don't need to see each dish you're going to consume unless you post the after effects of you shitting it out too. ( hashtag  Just Joking ) I tried doing a search on this guy, but came up empty handed. I guess he deleted his account.   

Mugshots are fun and funny

Image
Well, at least she's smiling in this picture?  I like mugshots. They pretty much show you at your worst point in your life. I also like famous people's mugshots. They're like Pokemon, you got to catch them all. Someone posted a comment in a random post about Cody Lane's mugshot and I remembered she had two sets of them. For my end, I've tried to find my family member's mugshot because he's been arrested multiple times. But there is no record of his arrest from what I can find. And, I know someday I will have my own set of mugshot photos too.  It should also be worth noting that pornstars and mugshots seem to get along fairly well. 

Yasukuni Shrine: Bieber is a clueless dick

Image
Bieber just can't catch a break.   Even the dude can't believe this little ass is taking a picture. Remember when there wasn't a Twitter to make a famous person look very terrible? After causing havoc in his hometown Wal-Mart, the Bieber pretty much pissed off most of Asia when he visited a Japanese War Shrine. Being that he's been home schooled, he wasn't aware that there is some serious bad mojo between Japan and the rest of Asia about the Yasukuni Shrine. Bieber posted the twitter picture as if it was “just a place of for prayer”. Sorry, Bieber it's not, It is a reminder to many people outside of Japan of the horrible things that the Army did to most of Asia. From Aol.com, ((It is a flashpoint between Japan and its neighbors that see the shrine as distinct from other Shinto-style establishments mainly honoring gods of nature. China and South Korea in particular see Yasukuni as a symbol of Japan's past militarism and consider Japan...

Random Things

Image
Random Things    ~ Mrs. Doubtfire II: Really, Hollywood ? I just not seeing too many people asking for a Doubtfire sequel or even a reboot or remake. I am still confused as to why people thought a Robocop cop reboot/remake was necessary. Mara Wilson, a person that's had some Internet fame recently, tweeted out some remarks about the notion of a sequel . I'm guessing she won't be asked back for the followup. I am with Mara that the movie ended where it needed to end. Comedies generally don't have too many good sequels. (Naked Gun 2 was pretty good).  Think about a Tommy Boy II.  It wouldn't work...actually they made Black Sheep that was but wasn't a sequel to TB.  And that wasn't as funny.  It was funny, but not laugh out loud funny like TB.    ~ Prince is back with WB Records: I guess things change after 20 years. This was the feud with Prince writing slave on himself in order to get out of a contract with WB. I guess the ...

Darwyn Cooke's Batman Beyond

Image
 Darwyn Cooke's Batman Beyond This just goes to show you that DC animated shows are still better than the DC live action series. They seem to really understand the power of DC's universe. I love that they got Kevin Conroy and Will Friedle back to reprise their roles. This sweet short is a tribute to the 75 th anniversary of Batman. I also love they brought back the HARDAC androids as the bad guys. I'd always hoped they would bring them back for Justice League. Did you catch all the versions of Batman in the panning shot ? There are Tim Burton, Dark Knight Returns, Brave and the Bold robot Batmen in the bunch. Plus, the original version of Batman from the first comic book.   (Yeah, there is an Adam West version too, but I didn't want to mention it."

Spare some change?

Image
Drug users and drunks: I've been to the same gas station in one week and been asked for handouts by disheveled older men. If you really want to piss me off, ask for money by creeping up on me. One guy got really pissed when I refused to give him money. Why? You're the one asking a complete stranger for some cash. There are times when I truly hate human contact and I get a little miffed when someone comes up to me to talk especially when its about asking for change to feed your habit. The second time happened when I drove up in my car to the pump. There was an older man with a cane moving pretty fast up toward the pump. I knew he was going to ask for change because he seemed a bit drunk. Pissed, I sat in my car waiting for the old man to pass, so I didn't have to interact. He started to move slower as if to wait for me to get out of my car. I sat there...waiting for him to pass. He refused and stopped walking. So, he started yelling at me! “A-a...can I ...

Kid takes on girl bully and wins

Image
Kid takes on mean bully girl... I hate bullies and this video is just sweet justice. I've always stated that people need to defend themselves even when they know they're going to take a L. You make it hard for the bully to keep coming back to the point it is too much work kicking your ass. And, plus it builds character to know that you're taking up for yourself.   What kind of parenting is taking place in the girl's home? Something tells me not much. Some people have attacked the bus driver for not stopping the fight. Given bus drivers are always attacked in these situations, she did the right thing by calling the cops. Why didn't the brother intervene when his sister was attacking the fat kid? He got all tough when the fat kid turned the tables and but her in a choke hold. You should have stopped your sister from attacking red shirt guy. How much you want to bet the parents of the girl and brother will blame the bus driver instead of ...

US Airways: That Maybe the Worst Twitter post ever...

Image
US Airways: That Maybe the Worst Twitter post ever... Well, they don't call it a landing strip for nothing (NSFW!) . So, a woman kept sending complaint tweets to US Airwways, and she got this tweet back in response. It is of a woman sticking a toy plane in her v-jay-jay. Is this part of the service that US Airways provides for its first class flyers? So, the company is claiming the twitter picture was merely a mistake. From Washington Post, (( “No, absolutely not,” Miller told The Post via telephone from Fort Worth, Tex., where the company is based. “It was an honest mistake.” )) Do we really think this was a mistake? It was clearly someone that snapped and wanted to get back at a customer that they thought was bitching too much. So, they tweeted out that strange picture. I have to give US Airways credit for trying to convince everyone that it was a mistake. Check out these lovely tweets about the “mistake” . By the way, I've been t...

The Ultimate Warrior...so long

Image
The Ultimate Warrior I was surprised to hear that Warrior died because I thought he was in good health given he stayed in shape. However, I've had a love/hate relationship with The Warrior. On one hand, he was a hateful conservative that hated gay people. On the other hand, his nonsense speeches and comic books were a comedic goldmine. He was considered a strange joke on the Internet and myself included gleefully made fun of him on this very blog for years. Who can forget that Warrior raped Santa ?    Before all that, I grew up watching Hulk Hogan in the WWF. Then, the Ultimate Warrior came along and attempted to take some of that thunder away from Hulk. He was bigger than Hulk, but he wasn't a good wrestler. So, he sort of faded from WWF. Heck, I watched the WWE special on the guy via Netflix. While I didn't agree with him, I give him a sendoff. Thanks for all the entertainment in and out of the ring. 

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Part 2 of 2)

Image
T he other thing that really works in this movie is the interaction between the characters and the character development. Captain America works for Shield, but he doesn't always like the way they do things. He especially disagrees with Nick Fury. This Cap is not as gun-ho as the Ultimate Universe version. Chris Evans is outstanding as Captain America and seems much stronger in the role . And, he plays well off the other actors. Anthony Mackie as Falcon turns out to be a good friend of Cap. They start out as playful rivals and become allies. Scarlett Johansson is another actor that receives an extended role. Johansson is not only sexy, but she kicks a lot butt. I hope we will see more of Mackie and Scarlett in the upcoming films. Fury has an extended role in this movie far more than most of the other Marvel movie to this point. I dare say that he is the linchpin in the story. He sparks the adventure that Cap and Black Widow go on. And, he's played ev...

Game of Thrones: Well that was quick.

Image
Game of Thrones: Well that was quick. Spoilers... Killing off King Joffrey in episode two of Season 4 was kind of shocking. I already knew he was going to die during his wedding, but I thought the show was going to prolong it for at least the middle of the season. Nope, they actually did it. He ended up dying and getting what he deserved. They call this the Purple Wedding, and I love that remark because that's what happens to Joffrey's face when he starts to choke. In the words of the Joker in Batman 89, “I'm glad you're dead.” Couldn’t have happened to a worst guy. Up until the end, he was horrible little bitch-kid wasn't he? Anyway, I am going to have to re-watch the last act of the episode in order to see if they actually reveal who the killer was in the background. -The little people play: Yes, Joffrey did this just to insult Tyrion. -Cup Bearer: I really felt bad for Tyrion when he kept pouring and handing the cup to the Ki...

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Part 1 of 2)

Image
Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Part 1 of 2) TWS is a well directed action movies and it is a nice follow up to the first movie. The movie flows at a nice pace. It is more like an action/spy movie than really a superhero movie. And, that's fine because we have Iron Man 3 and Thor 2 for all the superhero stuff. This movie is more about action and car chases. There are a few problems with the overall plot, which I won't spoil because it involves a plot twist. It is minor in the grand scheme of things. The Winter Soldier is a fine tuned machine and a nice action movie with some charming character moments.   This sequel is directed by the new team of Anthony Russo and Joe Russo . Going in, I thought the movie would feel like a lite-reboot in the same manner as GI Joe II. However, they actually take great pains to reference the first movie directed by Joe Johnston . This movie does have a more modern film feel, but at least there are callbacks to the style of ...

Well that was strange...

Yesterday, I was riding my new bicycle through an area near Downtown Louisville. As I crossed an intersection, I rode a little bit more and I heard a horrible thud and scrapping sounds. There was a scream from a woman and a “oh shit”. I knew something horrible had happened. Someone just got hit by a car or something. I've heard the sound before. I turned my head to see a shoe fall to the street and a shitty pink bicycle come rest. To the right of the intersection, a black teen laid in the street. So, this older teen had just been struck by a car...actually a big ass SUV. He had a female companion who also had a bike too standing on the sidewalk. She did nothing to really help her struck partner. The SUV hit him so hard that it knocked him out of his shoe and as well as off the bike. To everyone's surprise, the teen got up. He actually leaped up as if being struck by a SUV was a minor discomfort for him. He grabbed his now messed up bicycle and shoe...

Community GI Joe Episode (GI Jeff)

Image
Community GI Joe Episode The name of the episode is GI Jeff and I loved every minute. The people that made this episode pretty much loved the old show. I also got a kick out of them twisted the show into a strange mind trip that Jeff is going through via his childhood.  It is a good nostalgia episode that's for sure.   My only gripe about the episode is that they didn't use the stock-music that they used on both GI Joe and Transformers. -The Theme Song: Yeah, they got that right. They recorded a new song that pretty much sums up GI Joe. -They even gave the episode an in-continuity Title Card, which is different than the one from the Community show. “Government Issue Jeff” -Some of the main cast members from the show reprise their roles for the episode. Michael Bell came back as Duke.   It looks like Bill Ratner was playing Flint , but he isn't listed on IMDB. -I love they talk about the fact Cobra attacks a tourist attract...