Posts

Showing posts from April, 2009

James Update

James Update -Things aren’t going too well right now and they’re going to get worst. So, don’t expect too many updates for a while. -I’m usually someone that doesn’t let things get to me too much, but I got some bad news that’s just been messing with me all day and probably the rest of the week. -I might update tomorrow, but who knows…

Creek Jump Failure

Creek Jump Failure… Of course it was the chubbier kid that ‘collapsed’ into the creek. I guess he was up S-creek without a paddle? Sorry.

Black Dynamite update

Black Dynamite (he meets someone famous) I think I’m going to love this movie… Black Dynamite sets ‘Barry’ straight Comment: While people will laugh about the ending to this scene, when we find out who Barry really is, but I got a kick out of Dynamite knocking down the price from $1.00 to 50 cents. Make sure to check out the new clip with a tribute to Bruce Lee. http://www.cinematical.com/2009/04/22/exclusive-clip-from-black-dynamite/ My question is why did he kill one of his own sparring partners? Anyway, I got this e-mail from the marketing people about the movie. And I’ll post it here. I would like to talk the marketing people that put me on their mailing list btw. (( BLACK DYNAMITE will be screening at the following times during the 2009 TRIBECA FILM FESTIVAL : Premiere – Friday, April 24th at 9:15pm - AMC Village 7, Theater 1 Public Screening 2 – Monday, April 27th at 5:00pm - AMC Village 7, Theater 6 Public Screening 3 – Thursday, April 30th a...

Bruno Poster

Image
Uh, behold the Bruno poster . I don't have much else to say about the poster other than it is very 'fabulous'.

poop in a backpack

Image
Warning: This post is going to stink _____________ A teacher sends a five-year-old student home with a bag of poop : It sounds like an opening to a joke doesn’t it? At least the teacher didn't light the bag on fire and send the kid on his way. But still ((Jason says his son's kindergarten teacher had bagged up a piece of human feces and stuck it in his son's backpack. His wife found the stinky mess.)) What teacher would do this and not expect something to happen? Where is the logic? (("She found a clear plastic bag with a piece of fecal matter wrapped up in a brown paper towel with the note on it," he said. The note read, "This little turd was on the floor in my room.")) I wonder if the teacher asked the kid if he wanted paper or plastic. Come on, did you have to leave the note on the bag? The turd is pretty self-explanatory. But, I wouldn’t want a damn 5-year-old taking poops on my floor. That just takes all the steam out ...

What the heck?

Image
About that U of L stabbing… (From Courier-Journal and Wave 3 ) U of L is kind of getting some negative attention of late. I don’t want to get too much into it, but I do want to make some comments about. Something needs to be said about the safety of students here on campus. There have been some crimes here from time to time. Have I had any problems? Nope. ((The fight outside a U of L dormitory ended in a stabbing that sent Sean Osborne to University Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. Montequa Jackson, 18, a freshman from Lexington, was arrested and charged with first-degree assault in the early-morning incident.)) Jermaine Stafford took his girlfriend to her dorm and started walking to his dorm. At a certain point, four white men surrounded him and started throwing out racial remarks. From Wave 3 ((Stafford says he was surrounded by four men in the parking lot and several others were around, hanging out in a nearby fraternity house. "There were some ugly things sa...

Perez Dispenser

Image
Perez Hilton? Why was he even asking questions at the USA pageant? Over at MC blog, he made a good point about the USA pageant and I question as to the reason why Perez Hilton was even there and asking questions to the young ladies. Why was he even there? We both didn't know why. It will probably remain a mystery forever like “What is the Smoke?” or “What exactly was Starbuck when she returned?” Well, MSN has written up a great post about Perez Hilton that ask that same question . Think about it this way; that's like me, another stupid blogger, being a judge in a writing contest. I am not an expert and I have no business doing that. Here's the best opening lines from MSN writer Helen Popkin ((So wait … how is it Perez Hilton, the gossip blogger who built a career by drawing male genitalia and cartoon cocaine on celebrity photos, is now the media’s official spokesperson on one of the most important civil rights issues in America? )) It says a lot about t...

yo, Joe

GI Joe: The Revenge of Cobra Man, this brings back some fond memories. This is the season miniseries in the GI Joe Series. This series happens right before the actual series. G.I. JOE:THE REVENGE OF COBRA PT.1-2 G.I. JOE:THE REVENGE OF COBRA PT.1-3 G.I. JOE:THE REVENGE OF COBRA PT.2-1 G.I. JOE:THE REVENGE OF COBRA PT.2-2 G.I. JOE:THE REVENGE OF COBRA PT.2-3 -Cobra Commander isn’t as goofy or Starscream-like in this miniseries. -One of my favorite villains Zartan makes his appearance here with his gang the Dreadnoks . -I was never able to get Zartan’s action figure. But, everyone else had him. -Watching Cobra Commander riding bitch to Zartan is priceless. -This is the appearance of the Weather Dominator . People have claimed the US has one of these in real life. I seriously doubt it. Watch rest of the miniseries here http://www.youtube.com/user/untay1

Woman Kills Herself through Road Rage Serena Sutton-Smith)

Woman Kills herself in Road Rage Now, this one is strange but deadly story so read carefully… ((It was the ultimate expression of road rage. A furious woman driver died after ramming another vehicle and spinning her wheels so fast that her own car burst into flames.)) Her anger was so crazy that she ended up killing herself in her own car. Here’s where it gets crazy… ((She spun the wheels so fast that her tyres disintegrated and the metal rims sent a shower of sparks into the engine, igniting the brake fluid and setting the car on fire. Appalled onlookers urged her to get out of the car as the flames licked around her but she told them to “F*** off”, an inquest in Gloucester was told. )) Her car was in flames and she stayed in the burning car still spinning the wheels. She had ample time to get out but stayed inside the burning car until she was cooked alive. Now, granted she was bipolar, but still, the smell of your burning flesh should motivate you to get out of the damn car. This ...

Milk...

Image
Now, where is that milk coming from? A flying cow? ____________________________ Milk does the body good? I hope that’s milk http://samuraifrog.blogspot.com/2009/04/got-milk-tovarich.html Check out SF’s post of nearly topless Russian models selling Milk. I’m no fan of milk, because I think it taste terrible and it makes me sick, but I’d certain try some if it came with some tall female Russian models. Are you glad the Commies lost? We get ads like this…

Train watching memories and other stuff

From a train engineer’s point of view (And my train watching memories) In this video, you will see a train go from CSX’s yard in Cincinnati to Louisville. I’m guessing he’s leaving Queensgate Yard for Osborn Yard in Louisville near U of L and the Airport. I’ve never seen portions of the line. But you can see the train bridge near the crossing between Cincinnati and KY on the Ohio River. What makes this video interesting is that I’ve lived in the Eastern area of Louisville my whole life and I lived near the Cincinnati/Louisville Shortline and can hear the train horns. (It can be a very congested line at times, but that was when Ford was still doing all right.) I remember riding my bike to this line and watching the trains go by. This was when the line was still L&N and the Seaboard System. The line that the engineer rides in the video passes by my Elementary School. (Bowen Elementary School) As a child, I remember playing in the fields during our outside b...

Michael Jackson’s Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (follow up post)

Image
Michael Jackson’s Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (follow up post) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JbVM-l2Oku4 I hate drive-thru hate comments. And this one really pissed me off… Anonymous said... Can we not get the name of the person who claimed this, or the interview? I hate half-baked research. He left this comment in my popular MJ/Sonic 3 post . I guess he didn’t even bother watching the video, because Qjimbo did a great job researching this stuff (Which has led to other people finding other similarities) Our Anon commenter even ignored the direct similarities to Michael Jackson’s - Stranger In Moscow song and the End Titles . If the songs are so similar, wouldn’t MJ have sued Sega? (Or the other way around) And the fact MJ’s relationship with Sega never really ended even after the Sonic 3 incident, because he showed up in two Sega games as himself in character model and voice this further proves my point. You can check out his very extended appearance in Space C...

Hogan Knows Worst

Image
The Hogan Family is a happy family… Hulk understands Nordburg (OJ) So, Hulk Hogan made an off color remark about understanding what OJ went through. (No mention of potatoes without gravy) ((“You live half a mile from the 20,000-square-foot home you can’t go to any more, you see a 19-year-old boy driving your Escalade, and you know that a 19-year-old boy is sleeping in your bed, with your wife. I totally understand OJ. I get it.”)) Yeah, that was totally a stupid thing to say. So, killing your wife in cold blood is acceptable? Man, I can’t believe I looked up to this guy when I was a kid. I’d watch him wrestle and wake up to watch his cartoon show . He was a hero to many kids back in the day. Now, we see him for who he really is, a selfish D-bag. (Though, he was the bomb in Rock III, yo.) Keep in mind that this whole family is flawed to begin with. But I blame the Reality Show Curse. -The old couple is getting divorced. -Hogan’s son nearly killed someone and his sons out there on ...

More Fun with Terms

More Fun with Terms ( Thanks to Urban Dictionary ) Facebook Foreplay : ((Writing increasingly sexy messages back and forth using facebook, or a similar social networking site, as a medium.)) Comment: Sadly, I’ve never attempted this sort of thing. Is there a form of Facebook Intercourse too? What kind of birth control do you use on a Facebook? Can a Facebooker makeout with a Myspacer? What kind of baby would it have, a MyFace? ____________________ Police Chase : ((Occurs when motorists are afraid to pass a police car while driving on a highway due to a fear of being caught for speeding. Similar to a parade maker , the result is a traffic jam .)) Comment: This has happened a lot in my many travels. You get on the highway and a cop comes driving up and everyone slows down and follows behind the cop, almost matching his speed. There are a few brave souls that will pass him, but I’m not one of them. _______________________ niteflix : ((Dreams so complex in plot and rich in pr...

Ashton Kutcher pwns CNN on Twitter (Okay...)

Image
Ashton Kutcher pwns CNN on Twitter (As if anyone cares) Kutcher: The Britney Spears of acting… I’ve always hated Mr. Kutcher and never found him funny or entertaining. Now, I have another reason to hate him. ((Ashton Kutcher, the baby-faced star of Punk'd, That 70s Show and a host of barely passable feature films, beat the stodgy 24-hour cable news network to be the first with 1 million Twitter followers.)) So, he’s become famous for having more Twitter followers than CNN. Why is that important to him or us? When news organizations report on your tweets instead of the actual acting career, it should say something about the state of your career. (Oh, I am still mad at him for banging MILF Demi Moore too.) We can also thank him for these wonder reality shows stinking up the airwaves too. "Beauty and the Geek" : Thank you, for reminding geeks that they can’t get laid for nothing. "The Real Wedding Crashers" : The movie was enough. ...

My Top Ten Movie Scores (Part 1 of 2)

Image
My Top Ten Movie Scores (Part 1 of 2) Many everyday movie watchers often ignore music in films or the music merely becomes background to what is happening on screen. However, if people took the time to listen to the score alone, they might discover more to it than filler music. Scores enhance, or improve upon, what the writer/director/actor are trying to convey on screen. We get the intended feeling of a movie through its music. MC asked me to compile the top ten best movie scores according to me. So, let’s get this party started. 10. Jaw 2 (John Williams): While the movie isn’t as good the first Jaws , but the score is better than the first movie. John Williams’s score here is well crafted as he takes his central themes from the first one and adds a little bit more flare to this follow up. 9. Batman (Danny Elfman): When Batman came out back in 1989, I believe people took notice of the amazing score that Elfman wrote. It is still his strongest score,...

Back to the Future III (Main Title)

Back to the Future III (Main Title) While I think BTTF 3 is the weakest of the bunch, the score by Alan Silvestri is a nice little treat. Instead of opening on the bombastic theme from the first two movies, he decided to bring an entirely new theme. (1:17 mark) I call this theme the Clara and Doc love theme. It starts when Marty takes the knocked out Doc Brown home in the rain. (But he brings back the muted trumpet at he beginning) The flute solo is very nice to listen to. While the first two scores were very action-centered, Silvestri made his last BTTF score a bit slower and character based. It’s not as heart pumping as his Predator score, but it is a nice little score to listen to throughout. Here are a few tracks mashed together, so you can get a better feel for the score.

Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity

Image
The Planets Gustav Holst (Jupiter) I was in the University planetarium and heard really bad keyboard versions of the Holst music for The Planets. (Kate Mulgrew did the voiceover for the production, she was good, but I would have preferred Patrick Stewart or Avery Brooks instead.) I asked my teacher, “Why didn’t you use the real Holst music for the production.” He laughed and said, “Because it would have cost too much to get the rights.” Anyway, I figured I post the Jupiter track from youtube. It’s been used in hundreds of commercials. It has motivated many composers in space music to copy his style (John Williams, James Horner and Jerry Goldsmith). The middle portion of the Jupiter piece is pretty much the heart and soul of this song. It is very majestic with some strong brass movements. _________________________________________ Side Note: Here is another composer filling out Holst’s own suite with a very John Williams style song. It is called "Pluto, the Renewer", composed...

Final Fantasy 13 Demo

Final Fantasy 13 Demo Wow, that was amazing. The in-game engine is pretty nice to look at. While I like the chick that wears the short-shorts, the black dude in the army jacket (and pocket Chocobo) is bit annoying, unless they get some famous for the voice actor for the guy. It looks like it is a mixture of Active Time Battle (FFVII and FFX2) and some online fighting methods too (FFXII and FFXI) It seems to following the design of Halo and other first person shooters. The world seems very futuristic too. Actually, it seems extremely similar to FF The Spirits Within (The movie) It should remind people of FF7 when the game started with a train ride and attack on a base like in this demo. Here’s the trailer Here a bit of info on the other FFXIII game , (Final Fantasy Versus XIII) which is sort of unrelated on to FFXIII

The Evolution of Dragonball Evolution

Image
Dragonball Evolution ( Check out the trailer ) The smell of Street Fighter all over again. Wow, the reviews have not been kind. I always felt they should have never even tried to make a film. Remember when there was word that FOX was considering moving this movie to the direct to video status ? Perhaps, they should have scrapped the release all together. Rottentomatoes.com has a rating of 15%. That’s right 15%. I have to wonder what the positive reviewers feel about it. Here are a few remarks from reviewers Chris Hewitt (St. Paul) : ((Chintzy effects, badly overdubbed dialogue, an idiotic script and a cave set that looks exactly like the "caves" on log-flume rides.)) Jason Di Rosso : ((Uninspired and cliché-ridden.)) Matt Mueller : ((Tearing through its mystical, who-gives-a-toss storyline like a pissed bat bouncing off cave walls, Dragonball’s cocktail of cheap effects, eye-rolling cliches and dismal direlogue will have fans of the series condemning it as a beyond-lame fail...

Random Thoughts

Random Thoughts ~ Top 11 Dumbest Superman Moments from the Nostalgia Critic: I pretty much agree with all his moments. Most of the goofy stuff you see in Superman II comes from t he director Richard Lester and Salkind family are to blame. They re-shot many shots and made them comedic moments. But, the turning around the Earth is really Richard Donner thing. Donner loved it so much he placed it back into his director's cut of Superman II. There is one moment left out. The plastic Superman Logo that Superman uses against one of the three bad guys. BTW, The throwing of the 'S' emblem isn't in the Richard Donner cut of Superman II. ~ Listen to Jamie Foxx bash Miley Cyrus : I not sure it's even a bashing because the damn DJs talk over Jamie Foxx and make some unfunny jokes. What happened to letting the man speak? Now, there are reports that Billy Ray Cyrus is upset with Jamie. Was he upset when his daughter made that racist photo about Asi...

James Update

James Update -Well, I’ve completed my presentation and just finished a three-page report on cell phones. -I finished up a homework assignment as well. -Now, I have an oral examine coming up and a 10-15-page paper. -Somehow, my BSG review is rank on the second search page of Google, not that I'm complaining... Busy, busy, busy

Billy Bob Thornton Again

Even more fun with the Billy Bob Thornton another parody Here’s the booing incident during the concert after the interview. I hope Mr. Thornton feels better from his "flu", because I’m sure everyone wants to see Mr. Woodcock II.

Billy Bob Thornton is really an A-hole? "I don't know."

Image
"I can't sing, I can't dance." Billy Bob Thornton acts like an ass and insults an entire country while he's at it. Well, it is probably one of the most awkward interviews I've ever seen . ((The actor apparently took issue that host Jian Ghomeshi kicked off the interview with references to Thornton's career as a Hollywood actor, director and screenwriter. For much of the ensuing chat, Thornton refused to answer any of Ghomeshi's questions directly, mumbling: "I don't know what you're talking about." He later said Ghomeshi's producers had been instructed ahead of time not to talk about his film career at all. )) Billy Bob just asks like little child and refused to answers questions and when he did they were random things. (He mentioned a monster collection.) So, he didn't want people asking him about his acting and writing career. Big deal, Billy Bob, you've had an actor first and you wouldn't be interview...

Shake your Boom Boom

Boom Boom Meccha Maccho (With crazy annotations) Boy, my eyeballs hurt. Everything is bubble-ish and bright. Holy crap this is bad, but I can’t look away. The Annotations make this strange video funny. You’ll probably see this Para-Para trend catch on here in the states soon enough. Para-Para Side note: The Urban Dictionary states ((1. (noun/verb) A Japanese style of dance that follows set choreography and is mainly done with the hands and arms. (Also, the Japanese onomatopoeia for "dance".) )) It is also done with really fast dance music that kills the eardrums.

Random Thoughts

Image
I said it before, I actually recognize someone in one of the Google Street Views. ____________________________ Random Thoughts ~ Google Street View gone horribly wrong : I got a huge kick out of this one. What happens when a Google Street View car goes under a bridge? It is not good for the camera, but it is pretty damn funny. ~ Wonderful, some the Somali Pirates have Internet videos. Now, everyone is going viral . BTW, those loser pirates that got owned by the America crew want 2 million for the captured captain . And, let’s not call this a ransom but a damn bailout. ~ Was the new Wolverine movie leaked on purpose ?: Given that it is FOX, I wouldn't put it past them. The writer in the article brings up some good points. And keep in mind there was a lot of bad early buzz floating round the Internet about this movie. However, given that many FX companies receive early versions of the film in order to work on it, someone could have easily leaked it. ~ Kevin Smit...

The DHARMA Orientation Films

Lost: The DHARMA Orientation Films (Revisited) http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/DHARMA_Initiative Anyone that’s my age will remember watching films like this in school, before VCR tapes became popular, and you would hear the projector over the sound a lot of the time. There would be scratches and missing frames. The LOST creators captured that with these orientation films. I thought it would be fun to revisit these videos again The Swan Film -Watch Dr. Marvin Candle ’s reaction when he talks about the ‘incident’. This strongly hints at the fact he was probably there and lost his arm in the process. -Yes, the music is a version of the score that is used in the show. The Pearl Film -On the upper left side of the screen (1:13 mark), you can see some people working in the Swan Station on the screen. In the screen, it zooms in on the men. Psychology film Not sure what this is, but it was used in the Lost Experience game. Orchid video This is my...